Casing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Casing

Im gonna mod up my case a bit with LEDs etc. I was wondering.
do led lights, case fans etc suck up power from the PSU?

thx lea.
__________________

lea0001 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah, they're all connected to it so they do.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

They won't take up that much, it all depends on how many you have. I used to have a link to an online wattage calculator and it'd tell you the estimated power consumption of neon fans, cold cathodes, etc. But I lost the link. My bad.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Dude u dont have to worry about those kinda thing they take up less than minimal like 3 watts nothing.
http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
try that and youll see how much they take up.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

That psu calculator is out dated,Try this one here.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

it shouldn't take up much at all, just make sure you have enough connections.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 05:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
That psu calculator is out dated,Try this one here.
Oh thank god, i couldnt get a straight answer out of that old calculator, i needed this, thanks shumway.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wow at MAXIMUM usage of EVERYTHING i will need 530 watts or so, thanx again shumway.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.