cases - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default cases

i was just wondering, if i purchase this case is the power supply going to be ok with buying an amd 3200 and geforce 6800 card, thanks for the help

Twopar is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
molsen's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen

well it has dual 12v rails it looks like and has 15A on one and 17A on the other. That's pretty good amperage rating and Antec seems to make solid PSUs. I think you'll be okay. Several of the reviewers have more demanding hardware and said the PSU was good.


Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

is the power supply going to be ok with buying an amd 3200 and geforce 6800 card, thanks for the help
450W will handle it fine.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

You can definetly trust the PSU if it says "Antec" .
NathanM is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66

Originally posted by NathanM
You can definetly trust the PSU if it says "Antec" .
ya NathanM is right antec power supplys are good it should handle it fine.
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.