Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2009, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 23
Default Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

I got my computer as a gift and am looking to add a second internal hard drive, but my case is too small. I found a few cases I really like but they are form factor ATX. I have a micro ATX.

If I went and bought the ATX case, would it work with the micro ATX form factor, or am I stuck with this design?
__________________

MStarr003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Most cases have screw placement for risers for all sizes of boards. When you are looking Just look at motherboard compatibility in the specs and it will tell you if your board will work.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Some of the really old proprietary boards had different screw placements, like HP, Compaq, Dell, but I am talking 5-7+ years old. If it is newer than that it should be standard.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Some of the really old proprietary boards had different screw placements, like HP, Compaq, Dell, but I am talking 5-7+ years old. If it is newer than that it should be standard.
It's an Intel board and the computer is a little over a year old.
MStarr003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Care to give us the model number so that we can double check?
Also what larger cases are you thinking of?

Seems perculiar that there isn't room for an addition of an extra hdd normally there is a bit of room in there.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Care to give us the model number so that we can double check?
Also what larger cases are you thinking of?

Seems perculiar that there isn't room for an addition of an extra hdd normally there is a bit of room in there.
Sorry, but which model number are you asking for, If it is my moboard, it is Intel DG965OT.

The case I have is Antec New Solution NSK3480 and the problem with space is because how the top part of the case is constructed. It is mostly enclosed and has a small round hole in which to route the wiring from the power unit and other devices in the 5.2 drive bays. Right now I only have the PSU and the cd/dvd rom drive routed through there and it is already extremely tight and the wires are being twisted and pulled through the small hole. I do have an open drive bay, but the remaining space for the wires to go through is tight. My existing hard drive is anchored to the bottom of the case and as a result, one of the slots on my moboard is unusable too.
MStarr003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

How about opening up a new hole in that upper section? I am looking at your case and it is kinda a stupid design. Why wouldn't they give you enough room for cables? Any way you will not have any problems with a new case.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
How about opening up a new hole in that upper section? I am looking at your case and it is kinda a stupid design. Why wouldn't they give you enough room for cables? Any way you will not have any problems with a new case.
I wish I knew about that design flaw before the part was purchased for me.
As far as enlarging the hole, I thought about that, but if I try to cut a new hole, I will just have to take it apart anyway and if I'm going to do that I may as well just go all the way and upgrade the case.

I kind of like the ones with the clear side window and the blue led lights.
MStarr003 is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Case upgrade - Will micro ATX fit into ATX?

That motherboard will work in the case.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
New Computer Case - Centurion - Questions. aaronkupen System Upgrades 0 11-06-2007 12:22 PM
upgrade and add case fans funkywaggnelz Overclocking and Modding 10 10-14-2007 11:39 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.