Case + PSU Compatibility - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2011, 10:51 AM   #31 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Took a grand total of 30 minutes to take out the processor/HDD/optical drive from the Dell, it's now scrap. Also salvaged video card, i imagine i can sell it on for like £20 or so but I don't think anyone would be looking for it anyway, so i might keep it handy for troubleshooting or something. Can't think of any uses for it so far.

The windows ISO i got my hands on works... i tested it last night so that's made me a happy chappy, still need to buy windows (I don't like MS but I don't believe in pirating software... unless it's EA, I haven't forgotten CnC4 yet!!) but I can wait until payday for that (£100 of my pay already dedicated to it).

Considering going for this 2TB HDD: Seagate ST2000DL003 Barracuda Green 3.5-inch 2TB SATA 6 Gb/s Drive (64MB Buffer,5900RPM): Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

If you have any better suggestions in that size/price bracket feel free!

Had issues clearing the current 1TB HDD... tried to DBAN the thing but it wasn't playing the game for whatever reason. Anybody know any good programs for completely restoring a drive to as close to it's factory capacity as possible? I want to start completely afresh but I have a feeling Dell have done something which makes the partitions a bit dodgy or whatever. DBAN didn't recognize any of the other 4 parts, it saw the HDD though. I don't get it ^^


That's an update for now, case comes at 17:00-18:00 so stoked for that. Salvaged the fan in the Dell too, i should add.. more cooling = win!

Planning to add some colour fans to the setup too, red + blue specifically with filters to reduce dust.
__________________

Joppsta is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:54 AM   #32 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

that 2Tb hd is a green drive. it will be ok if you just want to put files and media on it, but it probably shouldnt be used for programs.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 04:08 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

So... I have assembled everything and when I shove my graphics card in and turn it on there is no signal sent to my screen. I tried it with my old card as well which I know for a fact works.

HELP!!
Joppsta is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 04:45 PM   #34 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Plug it in?

Okay.. Ensure All the plugs are in. CPU 4/8 Pin, 20/24 pin, and gpu plug?
You did use the brass satandoffs to support the mobo?
Ensure RAMs seated and in the right spots
Is the case power switch in right?
Is the psu switched on?
Is it plugged into the wall?

Um basically double check everything. Did this board have an onboard?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Plug it in?

Okay.. Ensure All the plugs are in. CPU 4/8 Pin, 20/24 pin, and gpu plug?
You did use the brass satandoffs to support the mobo?
Ensure RAMs seated and in the right spots
Is the case power switch in right?
Is the psu switched on?
Is it plugged into the wall?

Um basically double check everything. Did this board have an onboard?
No onboard...but...

I think it was my new RAM.. i got it working now with the new RAM though

New problem is that the resolution won't go to my screen's native 1920x1080.. I am however downloading the newest drivers straight from EVGA's website....

I suppose I should link some pictures, no? :P




I need to get the resolution up to 1920x1080 though, i hated it at first but it grew on me... and the screen looks ridiculous at this 1600x1024 or so.


By the way, you're right, I am happy... strange feeling building your own computer and using it... now just for that hard drive.

Oh and with regards to OEM software, I think it dies with the hard disk, I didn't have to reinstall the OS.... or transfer data. I still intend to buy a new HDD and do a clean install of a newly bought Win 7 Premium though... feel like I need to start afresh.

Still, don't know what I was doing wrong in the first place ^^
Joppsta is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:11 PM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Oh and sorry for poor quality, it was my iPhone and apparently apple don't like flash and high megapixel cameras.. makes too much sense
Joppsta is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:50 PM   #37 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Great to hear.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 07:34 AM   #38 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

you wont be able to get a higher resolution until the graphics drivers are installed.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 06:24 PM   #39 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Case + PSU Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
you wont be able to get a higher resolution until the graphics drivers are installed.
Oh i did that already, it's fixed and all that anyway.

Still, it's not detecting my monitor which is a pain in the backside.. think it's something to do with the DVI to VGA most likely. The adapter causes the card not to detect what kinda monitor it is (the radeon knew what the monitor was, an LG2000 or something like that).

Cheers for the help anyway, I'll probably get a DVI monitor next to complete the setup.
__________________

Joppsta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU and Case compatibility grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-17-2008 01:47 AM
Case/Motherboard Compatibility sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-18-2008 02:22 PM
Case/PSU Compatibility miscslim System Upgrades 1 07-23-2006 11:23 AM
Case + Mobo Compatibility billru44 System Upgrades 2 12-25-2005 01:01 AM
Motherboard-Case compatibility Flanker Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-01-2005 05:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.