Case chooising? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Case chooising?

If you browse the forums, I'm sure you'll find a post about asking about stuff. Recently, I wanted an LCD monitor and that thread is still going on. Then I looked down and realized how naked my case is. So, I've also decided to get a new case as well. I don't know alot about cases but I do know that all mobo's dont fit in all cases.


I have an Asus A7V400-MX (specs here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...09#DetailSpecs)

And these are the cases I've dug up in just a few minutes:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811105152
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144104
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144101
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144151
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144103


I have a PSU and I was also wondering if the fans came with the case or no?


thanks all
~Static
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

yeah i'm in the same situation you're in and i'm planning on getting this case
http://www.xoxide.com/thermaltake-so...ase-black.html

as long as the case is ATX, your motherboard will fit in it, and most cases are ATX. As far as fans go, it will say on the product description.
This one has one in the front, one on the side, and one in the back, which is pretty much what you want to have. For PSU, you can just install the one you have on the new case, it isn't that hard.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

ccol, thanks
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Sorry for the double post but my mobo is a "micro atx".. does that still fit the ATX cases?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
does that still fit the ATX cases?
Yeah. Just match the stand-offs to the holes on your board.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

You can get ultra cheap cases for your computer that are just as good as any at ebay.
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

yeah it really depends on what you want, most of the cheap ones, well they look cheap but the higher you go in price, the better they look, more than likely
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

plus i have made a promise to never buy anything off ebay ever again. lol. i dont care about the price, ill be working it all off so ill never see the money O_O
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.