Case Change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2009, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Case Change

I bought another case (Xclio A380) because of overheating problems and am thinking of moving all the hardware from my old case into the new one by myself instead of paying a tech $50 to do it... since every one here says how easy it is.

The only things I'm worried about is frying the motherboard or stuffing something up bad since I need the computer.

Does anyone have any good links to instructions for assembling it? I don't know if I'll need to take out the RAM and everything that is already on the mobo before moving it into the next comp or just leave it attached to the motherboard and screw it into the chasis then plug in all the cables etc.
__________________

enigm@tic is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Case Change

So you want to transfer all the parts of your pc from one case into another?

Easiest way to do it (imo) is to start by taking out the PSU, unplug all the power cables from the mobo hdd's etc. and unscrew it from the case. Then take out all your expansion cards (e.g. sound vido network etc.)
Then take out your hdd's and optical drive. After that unscrew your mobo, and carefully lift it out of the case.

The do all of that in reverse to install them in the new case Don't bother taking out your ram or your cpu/heatsink or anything else I haven't mentioned above. Won't really matter.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 08-10-2009, 02:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Case Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
So you want to transfer all the parts of your pc from one case into another?

Easiest way to do it (imo) is to start by taking out the PSU, unplug all the power cables from the mobo hdd's etc. and unscrew it from the case. Then take out all your expansion cards (e.g. sound vido network etc.)
Then take out your hdd's and optical drive. After that unscrew your mobo, and carefully lift it out of the case.

The do all of that in reverse to install them in the new case Don't bother taking out your ram or your cpu/heatsink or anything else I haven't mentioned above. Won't really matter.
Cool, sounds simple.

I'll post back if I have issues.
enigm@tic is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Case Change

Alright I have a couple of problems...

Firstly, when I was removing the video card from the motherboard I put too much pressure on that bracket thing and snapped it... not sure if it's now screwed or can I just use the other slot instead?

Secondly, after I installed the motherboard into the new case, the expansion slots don't line up with where I will be installing the gfx card..

I'll try to get a pic if you guys don't understand what I mean by those.

EDIT - I got the video card lined up properly but I'll show you the problem in the pic..
http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/995/dsc00455ypv.jpg
enigm@tic is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Case Change

Why don't you just move the fan controller over a few slots?
Also, for future reference, the clip on the pcie slot is there to hold the card in. To remove the card you're meant to bend it back first
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Case Change

Thanks man, don't know what I would do without you some times lol.

Well, after getting all of this figured out I went to boot up and nothing happened so I played around for another 40 minutes with the spacers and finally got it running but mega mega slow..

Shows the motherboard screen as usual when i boot but it hangs for like 3 minutes then shows a screen saying "Boot GRLDR Resetting the boot drive" and slowly boots into windows.. other than that I think everything is fine. After I boot in to windows it runs as smooth as ever before.
enigm@tic is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Case Change

You wouldn't be using a pirated OS would you?

Do a repair install of the OS, it'll fix up your issue.

edit: btw, tf does not condone pirating.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Red face Re: Case Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
You wouldn't be using a pirated OS would you?

Do a repair install of the OS, it'll fix up your issue.

edit: btw, tech forums does not condone pirating.
Oh - heh.

Thanks again buddy.
__________________

enigm@tic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for the "best" case mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 12 05-17-2009 01:07 AM
GX2 / Temps / Case Fans Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-12-2009 12:49 PM
case for my nokia e71 robina_80 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 03-26-2009 05:05 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Gonna buy a new case becuase I CAN...not to sure what to get Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 46 08-12-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.