cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2006, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default cards

alright.just ran 3dmark05 and got 1530.running a gigabyte radeon(VPU) 128 btw.during the mark,it was so **** laggy,like 1-9 fps.wana get a *AGP card that could run it better?recommendations and price in my currency??singapore
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It was so laggy because you're graphic card is no good, and you definitely need more ram. What is your budget in Singapore currency?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

yea.ram?ram is linked too?dint know that..around $250 i guess.
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I'd say get another stick of 512mb ram, and probably a 7600GS. If possible, 7800GS which is like the best AGP card you can get.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

alright.but roughly what would be the cost of a 7600gt?
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Oh sorry about that, I think they make 7600GT in AGP, but they're hard to find. Look at the previous post.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

oh.sorry,i overlooked it.alright.so 7600gs.but it is pci-express isit?its not agp?mine is an analogue kind..
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The 7600GS is also available as AGP.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

ohh.okay.thanks for your reply and time dude.
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

If you're getting an extra 512mb ram, try and get a 512mb stick with the same speed and timings as your current, so you can run them in dual channel.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.