Can't get a certain resolution to work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
xpedient's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Question Can't get a certain resolution to work?

My video card is an ATI Radeon HD 4650 Series 2gb
My LCD monitor size is 18.5

In my desktop, I am using a resolution of 1366 x 768.
In games, I also use a resolution of 1366 x 768.
The problem is that some of the games like Dead Space 2 or Heroes of Newerth (which I am currently playing) has low frame rate when I am using high settings. So I want to check if I tried a lower resolution with high settings to get some of that lost frame rate.

The problem is that whenever I change the resolution lower than 1366 x 768 and "higher" than 1024 x 768, the game crashes. This doesn't happen on Dead Space 2 only, old games like Warcraft 3 (DotA) can't use resolutions higher than 1024 x 768 (was trying to get to 1280x768 or 1280x1024).

Even in windows (desktop) I tried to change the resolution to lower than the said resolutions but there is an error message and it said, "Windows could not change your display resolution. Try a different resolution."

Please do move this thread if I posted in the wrong section... Thanks in advance!

"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...

xpedient is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Can't get a certain resolution to work?

for best results, keep your game running the native resolution of your monitor. if changing the graphics level lower doesnt help out enough, it's time for an upgrade.

Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870

jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Swaziland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Can't get a certain resolution to work?

you really don't want to play games on resolution lower than 1024x768 even on 18'' screen instead try lowering the game settings to medium lets say or leave them on high but disable any AA that should improve your frame rate. updating drivers also helps. i'm not sure how often ATi release drivers and i've heard that its not that often at all but never the less you should try and get the latest drivers.
suppahigh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Resolution Won't Work JACofNoIdeas Laptops and Notebooks 1 07-31-2010 07:33 PM
How to work with partitions in Windows Vista / XP when Disk Management doesn’t work Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-12-2007 03:16 PM
G3 resolution joshd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-27-2006 01:28 PM
resolution devil_warrior Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 03-03-2005 01:43 AM
resolution devil_warrior Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 03-01-2005 10:19 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.