Cannot initialize new HDD, need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2008, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Exclamation Cannot initialize new HDD, need help

I just installed a new 250gb Seagate hard drive on my computer as a Primary Slave. It comes up fine on the BIOS, and in Device Manager -- says everything is working fine.

But I need to initialize it before I can start partitioning. However, when I open Computer Management it doesn't display the new drive, so I don't have the initialization option! My 80gb Primary Master drive, and the CD-ROM drives are there, but the new Primary Slave refuses to appear, even after rebooting, rescaning, and refreshing. Arrrg.


Would love your input on this!



Here's what I get when I open Computer Management > Disk Management:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg where_is_my_HDD.JPG (27.6 KB, 20 views)
__________________

DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Lightbulb Re: Cannot initialize new HDD, need help

LOL, okay I JUST figured it out!

I have to right-click in the space where it says:

Disk 1
Unknown
xxx.xxGB
Not Initialized


Right-click anywhere else and all options are turned to stone. If you ask me, Microsoft really needs to fix a few of their interfaces -- starting with Computer Management!
__________________

DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Cannot initialize new HDD, need help

Says your drive is unallocated. Probably means you'll have to reallocate the drive before using it. Go and google "gparted". Should do the trick.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cannot initialize new HDD, need help

You need to make a partition and format the drive.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD Recovery benchi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-01-2008 11:48 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.