Can You Upgrade the SoundCard on a Laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default Can You Upgrade the SoundCard on a Laptop?

Can it be done? If so how?
__________________

Ioanni is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You can buy a PCMCIA sound card:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...reative%20Labs
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 06:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default

Exactly, try getting either a PCMCIA card, or an external USB sound. There's some pretty nice models out there for both.
__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default

alright thanks alot im going to check them out but how would i actually change it? do i change it the same way as a sound card for a desktop?
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Xion Solaris Black/Green Mid ATX Case w/Neon Glow
Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX -Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Kingston Dual Channel HyperX 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA Hard Drive
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-E Dual DVI/HDTV/HDCP Enabled Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI Sound Card
Sony DVD Burner and Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Drive
24" Samsung LCD TV/Monitor
Ioanni is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 09:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

I doubt your laptop has an actual sound card. It most likely uses onboard audio. In other words the audio goes through you motherboard. If you want to use the pcmia card you simply stick the card into the pcmia slot which will most likely be on the side of your laptop somewhere. You might have to disable your onboard sound in the bios.
__________________
I need a new computer
ElBurro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.