can someone rate these specs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Peruso
Default can someone rate these specs?

How is are these specs? I wanna buy a new computer, but I wanna make sure I get a good one. I'm into PC gaming, so I need speed, and graphics. How are these?


Product Details






Warranty Terms - Parts 1 year limited





Warranty Terms - Labour 1 year limited





Product Height 15"





Product Width 7.2"





Product Weight 24 lbs.





Product Length 17"





Processor Brand AMD Athlon 64 X2





Processor Speed 2.0GHz





System Bus 2000MHz





Cache Memory 512KB + 512KB on die Level 2





System Memory (RAM) 1GB





System Memory (RAM) Expandable To 4GB





Type of Memory (RAM) PC3200 DDR SDRAM





Hard Drive Type Serial ATA (7200 rpm)





Hard Drive Size 250GB





Graphics ATI RADEON XPRESS 200





Video Memory Up to 256MB (shared)





Personal Video Recorder (PVR) No





TV Tuner No





MPEG Yes





Audio Built-in; 6-speaker configurable





Modem 56 Kbps*
*Capable of receiving 56 Kbps downloads. However, current regulations limit download speed to 53 Kbps.





Network Card Built-in 10/100Base-T Ethernet networking interface (RJ-45 connector)





Wireless Networking None





DVD-ROM Drive Yes





Maximum DVD-ROM Drive Speed 16x





Recordable DVD Drive Yes, double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW





Recordable DVD Drive Speeds 2.4x DVD+R DL; 16x4x16 DVD+RW; 8x4x16 DVD-RW; 40x24x40 CD-RW





LightScribe Compatibility Yes





Digital Media Reader or Slots Yes, digital media card reader





Total Expansion Bays External: 1 (3.5"), 2 (5.25"); Internal: 1 (3.5")





Available Expansion Bays External: 1 (3.5")





Total Expansion Slots 3 PCI, 1 PCI-E





Available Expansion Slots 2 PCI, 1 PCI-E





USB 2.0 Ports 7 (3 front, 4 rear)





IEEE 1394 Ports 2 (1 front, 1 rear)





S-Video Outputs None





Serial Ports None





Parallel Ports 1





Game Ports None





Keyboard Description HP multimedia





Other Control Devices (mouse, etc.) HP scroll mouse





Operating System Windows XP Media Center 2005





Software Included Microsoft Works 8.0, Money Standard 2005; Quicken 2005 New User Edition; Adobe Reader 6.0; HP Image Zone Plus; Sonic DigitalMedia Plus; muvee autoProducer; InterVideo WinDVD 5; Apple® iTunes and more
__________________

Peruso is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It's proprietary, isn't it.

The video card is TOTAL CRAP.

How much is this system gonna run you?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Peruso
Default

997.99 its from Best Buy
Peruso is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Not bad. You getting a monitor with it? Yea the video card is total crap.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
The video card is TOTAL CRAP.

Agreed.

Have them upgrade your video card if you're into gaming.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hercules_upw
Agreed.

Have them upgrade your video card if you're into gaming.
And than the PSU will not be powerful enough to power the new graphics card...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
And than the PSU will not be powerful enough to power the new graphics card...
True. You could upgrade the the ever popular 6600GT, it's a great little budget card, then I believe you only need like a 350w PSU to support it? I would just buy one around ~450W.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to ThermaltakeX
Default

w00t
ThermaltakeX is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

if you are into gaming WHY THE HELL ARE YOU GETTING A MEDIA CENTRE PC?
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 11:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

MCE is just fine for gaming.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.