Can SATA/300 WD HHD's work alongside new SSD's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Where mickey mouse lives
Posts: 28
Default Can SATA/300 WD HHD's work alongside new SSD's?

I presently have a Western Digital Raptor 74GB I used for my WinXP O.S. and Programs,and a 500GB Western Digital for storage. I built this system four years ago. It's a MSI P-35 Platinum/8GB DDR2,I will be installing WIN 7 (64Bit) soon.

I can not afford to upgrade/replace the whole kittenkaboodle right now,(DDR3, Faster GPU,or i7 CPU, but I just bought an Internal WD Caviar Green 2TB also for storage. I have about 60GB music and tons of Photoshop PSD,and JPG files I need to transfer to the 2TB HDD. I haven't opened the WDCavar green HDD yet.

I also do video capture,editing, and burning to DVD's all my analog VHS-C tapes using Pinnacle Studio15 HD.

Because my Raptor fills up pretty fast with the O.S., and programs,and temp files,etc., many people are telling me to use about 25GB on my 500GB Sata HDD for the O.S.,programs and the rest, to partition the balance for storage,but lots of people are telling me to dump the HDD's and buy the new SSD (Solid State drives.)

Is this solid advice,can my Motherboard support these new drives, and do these SSD's and HDD's compatible to work side by side on the same board, or do I have to have ALL SSD's?

rivrbyte is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Can SATA/300 WD HHD's work alongside new SSD's?

Any system with SATA can use SSDs. It reads it as a drive just the same. You can combine other HDDs as well.
__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Sata 1 work on a Sata 2 connection? Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-13-2007 10:35 PM
HELP NEEDED: Running FAT32 and NTFS alongside eachother AndyGray88 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-22-2006 12:03 PM
Will SATA II work on any SATA-enabled Motherboard? Tenshin System Upgrades 7 03-08-2006 02:07 AM
Will SATA 150 HD work with SATA II JoshC System Upgrades 12 12-04-2005 10:00 AM
Is it possible to enable onboard agp alongside addon card ? elixir Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-01-2005 12:58 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.