Can I use a wall mount on this monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2009, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

I am looking to put a wall mount on this monitor. I can't find any info anywhere if it will work.
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 2243BWX High Gloss Piano Black 22" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor with Height/Pivot Adjustments and 2-port USB Hub 300 cd/m2 DC 8000:1 - LCD Monitors
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

I very much doubt that you can. Looking at the back of it, looks like it can't.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

Looks like it would to me

Samsung SyncMaster 2243BWX-TAA 22" Black LCD Monitor ( 2243BWX-TAA ) - 22" LCD Monitor - Samsung Monitor

Check out the "options"
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

It looks like it. Thanks.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

That wall mount in the Options section is for VESA-compatible mounts. Nowhere on that site, nor Newegg say anything about it being VESA standard, or even have any mounting hole dimensions listed in the specs. If you look at the pics on Newegg, it doesnt' have mounting holes on the back. So unless you find another kind of mount or stand, it's not going to work with a VESA mount.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

Right, but you take that circle off. It comes off after I look at it.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

Odd they didn't include taht in the specs...had to look the monitor's manual up online.

Quote:
Attaching a Base
This monitor accepts a 100.0 mm x 100.0 mm VESA-compliant mounting interface pad.
Guess I was wrong; my bad.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

I think you need to unbolt the stand, if you look, the stand mounting bolts look like standard VESA.

Yup, samsung site says yes... 100mm
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 09:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

Newegg even suggests an alternative stand right under it (users also bought).... why would they do that if the products had nothing to do with each other) at the very least... that alone should raise an eyebrow... enough to research it a little. you wouldn't be able to remove it form the stand it comes with. Looks pretty simple to me. 4 mount points, twist and remove.... You can see it right on the newegg images.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 02:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Can I use a wall mount on this monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesgroovin View Post
Newegg even suggests an alternative stand right under it (users also bought).... why would they do that if the products had nothing to do with each other) at the very least... that alone should raise an eyebrow... enough to research it a little. you wouldn't be able to remove it form the stand it comes with. Looks pretty simple to me. 4 mount points, twist and remove.... You can see it right on the newegg images.
Wasn't looking at the suggested items. I did research it, hence why I corrected myself after I looked up the manual on Samsung's website.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your LCD Monitor and You Fat.Clown Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 01-30-2017 07:05 AM
Monitor Your Linux Desktop with Gkrellm Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 5 02-03-2009 03:30 PM
Monitor Only Displays White Screen darkop16 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2008 11:37 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.