Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2010, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this:
Newegg.com - Foxconn R10-G3 Supports 65W for Intel Core 2 Quad, Core 2 Duo processors Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 Intel GMA 3100 Barebone

This is the processor:
Intel Pentium 4 3.8GHz 800MHz 1MB Socket 775 CPU Intel

And the Cooler:
AVC Socket 775 Copper Base/Aluminum Heat Sink & 3.5" Fan w/4 Copper Heatpipes & 4-Pin Connector up to 3.8GHz AVC Z9U741L001
__________________

JSzaday is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 12:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

No. That CPU is a 115W chip.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

For $20 more, you could go with a E5300 and have a dual core.

Intel Pentium Dual Core E5300 2.6GHz 800MHz 2MB Socket 775 CPU INTEL BX80571E5300

EDIT : Actually for less than both of them, you can get a Celeron E3300, which performs on par with the Pentium E5300.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-264-_-Product
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

That's what I was thinking, I mean about the TDP. Anyway, it'll be cheaper to go with the celeron processor anyway, I'm on a really tight budget. Will that Celeron be about as fast though?
JSzaday is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 10:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSzaday View Post
That's what I was thinking, I mean about the TDP. Anyway, it'll be cheaper to go with the celeron processor anyway, I'm on a really tight budget. Will that Celeron be about as fast though?
It'll be faster than that Pentium 4, by a good margin.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-22-2010, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Can I use a Pentium 4 3.8 Ghz in this Mobo?

Cool! That'll work than, thanks again guys for all your help
__________________

JSzaday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Processor run down VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2008 12:35 AM
Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz Puddle Jumper Overclocking and Modding 13 04-24-2008 11:45 AM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.