can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2007, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

I have an IBM netvista 6823 97/u p4 1.4 system. Can I change the processor for better one? If so how big can I go? Do I need to change the motherboard?
Is this something I can do myself. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thx
__________________

zapper is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

You'll have to post specefics about the computer. I'd run CPU-Z so you can give us details, such as the socket number or memory type.

Though, I'm willing to bet to do any worthwhile upgrade you would need to replace the CPU, Motherboard, and RAM.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

Here is the complete info from CPU-Z

CPU-Z 1.42 report file

Processor(s)

Number of processors 1
Number of cores 1 per processor
Number of threads 1 (max 1) per processor
Name Intel Pentium 4
Code Name Willamette
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.50GHz
Package Socket 478 mPGA
Family/Model/Stepping F.1.2
Extended Family/Model F.1
Brand ID 8
Core Stepping D0
Technology 0.18 um
Core Speed 1495.2 MHz
Multiplier x Bus speed 15.0 x 99.7 MHz
Rated Bus speed 398.7 MHz
Stock frequency 1500 MHz
Instruction sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
L1 Data cache (per processor) 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Trace cache (per processor) 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 cache (per processor) 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size

Chipset & Memory

Northbridge Intel i845 rev. A3
Southbridge Intel 82801BA (ICH2) rev. 12
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Revision 2.0
AGP Transfer Rate 4x
AGP Side Band Addressing supported, enabled
Memory Type SDRAM
Memory Size 768 MBytes
Memory Frequency 132.9 MHz (3:4)
CAS# Latency (tCL) 3.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# (tRCD) 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 3 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 6 clocks

System

System Manufacturer IBM
System Name 682397U
System S/N KADYMZN
Mainboard Vendor IBM
Mainboard Model IBM
BIOS Vendor IBM
BIOS Version 20KT32AUS
BIOS Date 03/21/2002

Memory SPD

Module 1 SDRAM, PC133 (133 MHz), 256 MBytes, unknown brand
Module 2 SDRAM, PC142 (142 MHz), 256 MBytes, unknown brand
Module 3 SDRAM, PC142 (142 MHz), 256 MBytes, unknown brand

Software

Windows Version Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
DirectX Version 9.0c
zapper is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

I have 2 of these machines that my kids use. It would be good if I could max them out. I have order memory to get them up to 1.5 g. They hold 3 x 512.
They already have 250 g hard drives, dvd player, an ati video tuner card .
zapper is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

I'm not sure what to tell you dude. Your computer uses socket 478, which is no longer used. Even the current LGA775 is scheduled to go out the door in December of 2008.

The computer is too old to be significantly upgraded, unless you plan to replace the Motherboard, CPU, and Memory.

You could swap out your Pentium 4 for another faster Pentium 4... but I don't know if it would make too big of a difference.

What problems are you having that make you want to upgrade?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

As far as the other P4 suggestion my P4 runs at 3.00ghz and its the same slot type. So if you can find it. Its one of the older prescotts.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

The recorded tv shows come out terrible. Sound and picture do not match,
hesitates. Will this problem be fixed with the memory maxed to 1.5 g.
Could I change the cpu to make it a little faster when surfing?
zapper is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

I would be happy with a 3.0. Where do I get one and how do I know if it is compatable?
If not what can I get (motherboard,cpu and memory) to fit in my mini tower?
Thx
zapper is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

If I'm reading that right, his machine has a 400 MHz FSB.

None of the processors on Newegg will run on that slow of a FSB.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: can i upgrade IBM p4 1.4 to something better

Would either of these work.

SL5UH 2 GHz N/A N/A 400 MHz 0.18 micron D0 256 KB 478 pin
SL5TL 2 GHz N/A N/A 400 MHz 0.18 micron D0 256 KB 478 pin

If so would it be a 25% improvement?

Thx
__________________

zapper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.