Can I up grade this cp ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default Can I up grade this cp ?

Hi this is my first thread.
I am wondering whether i should buy this computer
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...uct_uid=106600
( sorry for the long adress ) Anyway i am wondering if i am able to upgrade this computers graphics card in order to play some graphically demanding games.
please help me.
Thanks,
Sol
__________________

sailpog is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

You could but since it doesn't even have an AGP slot the best you can get is a Geforce FX5200 or (I think) 5500 PCI card and depending on the games your wanting to play it's not worth it... I would save your money and build one OR do some more research and buy a better one... yea this one is cheap, but then that's what you pay for... CHEAP and very out dated
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Trust me when I say that is not a gaming computer.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

can any of you suggest a computer under £300 which would take good graphics cards
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 03:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

It's not much better, but it is upgradable.

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...KIT-K2&cat=BBK

have to add a little on this one, but better...

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...=A458-2114%20D

I think this one might be the best though... given the 3 choices only... This one at least offers PCIE graphics...

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...IT-K10&cat=BBK
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

Right so on the www.geeks.com ones, they have all the components needed to work but need to be put together and have XP installed on them.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

basically yes... it's a ready made build that you put together... they just made the decision on the parts for you
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 11:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

Cool cheers for your great help ! Just 2 more question 1) can i just buy a different part instead of the one that comes in the packgae and secondly which of the 3 you have mentioned above would you recomend.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

For the most part unless you get the chance to pick your parts before hand, you get what comes in the package... And out of the 3, I would go for the last one... it comes with PCIE so you can upgrade later on. But if you have to go this route, then get a different PSU... In most cases (actual cases that come with powers supplies) they are the cheapest thing they could find, so I would get a new one.

But to be totally honest... If you don't have to buy it now, I recommend you wait. Save your money, and biuld one later on down the road when this years batch of hardware comes out and you can see what goes down in price... IMHO
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.