can i run fear near flawless? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 01:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Switching to PCI-E can require a lot of money since he'd need a new CPU as well.

Why would he need a new cpu to go pci-e? Pretty sure the pentium D 2.66 is socket 775
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

that system should run fear maybe not max res but it will run it regardless. my friend with a 6600gt 2.7ghz celeron and 1 gig of off brand ram if running fear on medium and even then it looks great.
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you may have problems with maxing out the physics etc on FEAR. i know that believe it or not my processor at stock speed (without the dual core patch) seemed to bottleneck performance.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 04:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

whoa some people are just overreacting lol

he asked if the pc can run it or not and never said anything about wether hes got it already or not so how am i supposed to know

im just trying my best to remind him that PCI-E is the way to go these days so he doesnt make mistakes...looks like some people need to chill out more
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default

part of the reason i went agp is because the mobo was given to me for free. and i decided to take it for free because the 6800 can with a little tweaking in riva tuner can be turned into a 6800gt with some overcloking and unlocking pipelines and vertex shaders
Ocer 939 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 04:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

that all depends on what kind of 6800 you have
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.