Can I replace a 512MB PC3200 RAM with a 1GB PC4200 RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Can I replace a 512MB PC3200 RAM with a 1GB PC4200 RAM?

Hi! I have a Dell Inspiron XPS laptop, the one with 3.4GHz CPU. It's not the newer XPS M140/M170 or XPS GEN2.

So, it has the older PC3200 RAM. I am now interested in upgrading from 2x512MB PC3200 to 2GB. But I found that the PC4200 RAMs are much cheaper than the PC3200's. So, I want to know whether I can use the PC4200 RAM on PC3200 machine? I understand that they have different FSB. But I don't know whether it can be downward compatible.

Also, if I can use PC4200 RAM, then does it matter I use DDR or DDR2?

If there is any other issues I need to note, please do not hesitate to point it out for me. Thanks very much!
__________________

stargre is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The PC4200 will be compatable, IF you have DDR RAM in it now. The PC4200 will run at PC3200 speeds however.

If you can post your model number, we can figure out what kind of RAM you can use.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Hi! Thanks so much for your reply.
The model number is "Inspiron XPS". Kind of weird that it does not look like a model number, but it is. I guess that won't help. And the detailed configuration of the laptop cannot be found on Dell website now. But with the service tag, I found the following information.

1 8T749 LIQUID CRYSTAL DISPLAY, Wide Ultra Extended Graphics Array, NO-SPWG, 15.4, TOSHIBA
1 C2512 ASSEMBLY, CABLE, 15.4, NIMITZ-ALCATRAZ
1 W1456 ASSEMBLY, BASE (ASSEMBLY OR GROUP), BOTTOM, 1G, BROADCOM CORPORATION, EXTREME PERFORMANCE SYSTEM
1 Y3740 KEYBOARD, 87, US-ENG, DUAL POINTING, NIMITZ-ALCATRAZ
1 M5270 PROCESSOR, 80546, 3.4, 1M, PENTIUM 4 PRESCOTT DT, 800, D0
1 X1501 BRACKET, KEYBOARD, METAL, NIMITZ-ALCATRAZ
1 70TVD ASSEMBLY, CABLE, S-VIDEO, WEST
1 K2490 CORD, POWER, 110V, 6F, ALTERNATING CURRENT, 3W, PROPOSITION 65, UNITED STATES
1 N3834 ASSEMBLY, ADAPTER, ALTERNATING CURRENT, 150W, LITEON, WORLD WIDE
1 G4613 CASE, CARRYING, NYLON, NOTEBOOK, BACK PACK, EXTREME PERFORMANCE SYSTEM
1 R1185 BATTERY, PRIMARY, 14.8V, 12C, LITHIUM, SONY
1 U1202 CARD (CIRCUIT), GRAPHICS, ATI TECHNOLOGIES INC, M11, 128MB, 9100
1 8267R CONNECTOR, HEADER, 2X22, FEMALE, 2, S, G, 35K, THIRD HEIGHT, CHIP SET
1 P2364 HARD DRIVE, 60GB, 9.5MM, 5.4K, FUJITSU, Z40
1 U5251 ASSEMBLY, COMPACT DISK READ WRITE/DIGITAL VIDEO DISK DRIVE COMBO, 24X, HITACHI LG DATA STORAGE, D MODULES
1 N2999 KIT, SOFTWARE, MNY-2K4, STANDARD, ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT MFGR., ENGLAND/ENGLISH
1 P2643 KIT, SOFTWARE, MSENC-2K4, ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT MFGR., ENGLAND/ENGLISH
1 T7166 KIT, SOFTWARE, WP-PRDCT-STE12, ENGLAND/ENGLISH, V2
1 H8412 KIT, SOFTWARE, OVERPACK, WXPHSP2, COMPACT DISKETTE W/DOCUMENTATION, ENGLAND/ENGLISH
1 G4874 KIT, DOCUMENTATON ON FLOPPY DISK, SOFTWARE, POWERDVD, 5.1
2 F3603 DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 512, 400, 64X64, 8K, 200

Could you figure it out?

Thanks very much!
stargre is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

Hmm thats alot of extra specs =p
i think we just need ur mobo, so u can edit out the things like the monitor and floppy drive ect.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Hi! I am sorry. But I was confused myself. I could not find the motherboard information. That's why I am posting everything so that you may be able to distill down the information valuable. But I will try to google more and find out. Thanks!
stargre is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I found it is a i865pe motherboard.
stargre is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

A quick google search yielded exactly what we needed.
http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-180-1.htm
It takes DDR RAM so DDR2 will NOT work.
How much is the RAM you are looking at? can you give us a link to it?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks! I wanted to buy this
http://www.newegg.com/ProductSort/Su...ubCategory=381

But since you said it'll not work, maybe I can only settle with two of this?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145562
stargre is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Are you sure thats your motherboard? That looks like a desktop mobo. I would reccommend looking at the RAM you have in it now. Is it SODIMM or regular DIMM?
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.