Can I Just Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2010, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Can I Just Upgrade?

ALright so right now my current processor is a:


Intel« Pentium« E2140 (Dual Core) processor
Each core operates at 1.60 GHz
1 MB shared L2 cache
800 MHz front side bus
Socket 775


I have a Power Supply of 300W and will be upgrading to a 430W.

I would like to upgrade to a

Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5400 Processor BX80571E5400 - 2.70GHz, 2MB Cache, 800MHz FSB, Wolfdale, Dual Core, Retail, Socket 775

and here is my computer
Gateway Support - Specifications


Thank You all help is apreciated!
__________________

Kidfork is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Can I Just Upgrade?

nope, sorry.

ECS Web Site

click on CPU tab to see list of compatible CPU's with your system.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Can I Just Upgrade?

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6300
$9 more

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6600 Wolfdale 3.06GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80571E6600
$28 more
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Can I Just Upgrade?

Does not look like his board supports wolfdales, but I could be wrong.

Op, you should download and run CPU-z to find out the exact model of your motherboard.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
stoneys-nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to stoneys-nutz
Default Re: Can I Just Upgrade?

To get all the info on your machine, download this and run.

Speccy - System Information - Free Download
__________________
dont linger with your finger on the trigger
stoneys-nutz is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Can I Just Upgrade?

You're probably right, Clown. My bad.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - System Upgrade Utilities 2010 (English Version) Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-21-2010 08:15 AM
a little upgrade help Fulcrum System Upgrades 26 06-22-2009 04:15 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-10-2009 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.