Can I just buy ANY video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2008, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Can I just buy ANY video card?

I just bought a wide screen 17" flat panel monitor and plugged it into my 5 year old Sony Vaio PCV-RX753 computer but I cannot change my display properties to wide screen resolution. How do I find out what kind of video card I need? I do not need a fancy one; no gaming... mostly just MS Office and web browsing.

Any advice?

And if it is just a matter of opening my case and switching out the cards, I might as well update my RAM. So how do I find out how much of that to buy and what types? I know I only have 512 now, but without opening my case, how can I find out how much more I can fit?

Thanks.
__________________

ShannonRyu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

That model of PC has SDRAM (i believe) so you would need to purchase that type of RAM. TO be honest 512 is ample but you could always go for more to make you applications et al run faster.

Is the graphics card onboard? - By that i mean a built in graphics card?
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggVeyron View Post
That model of PC has SDRAM (i believe) so you would need to purchase that type of RAM. TO be honest 512 is ample but you could always go for more to make you applications et al run faster.
If I can double my RAM for $20-30, I figured it was worth it, or will I not notice any difference? The processor is a P4 2A GHz (?). It just seems to be a LOT slower lately, especially when switching between windows and apps.

Quote:
Is the graphics card onboard? - By that i mean a built in graphics card?
Don't know, how can I tell? (besides opening it up)
ShannonRyu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

If you double the RAM you will notice a difference...

Your PC, as standard, comes with an onborad GFX card. Open up your PC and look where the cable from the monitor plugs in...does it plug into into a card that is 'slotted' in by your RAM sticks?
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

darn it... I was hoping to not have to open it up tonight, but since you are being so darn helpfull I'll crack it open right now. Wish me luck BRB
ShannonRyu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

No probs, just take it easy...
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggVeyron View Post
If you double the RAM you will notice a difference...
I have an empty slot for RAM (2 of 3 are full) so I can just plug in a 512 of the appropriate type... right?

Quote:
Your PC, as standard, comes with an onborad GFX card. Open up your PC and look where the cable from the monitor plugs in...does it plug into into a card that is 'slotted' in by your RAM sticks?
I think NO. My ram slots are perpendicular to my other empty slots (one is filled with what I think is my telephone modem?) but there are 2 empty ones like it and one that is brown (instead of white) and it has a lock(?) on one end.

ShannonRyu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

I took out one of my two RAM's... thay say "PC2100U-25330 256MB ddr 266mhz CL2.5"
ShannonRyu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

Yep, if in doubt just take a stick of RAM along to your local store and explain you want "one of those"

If you have white sockets like below then those are PCI slots



Are those you're empty slots?
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I just buy ANY video card?

yes, those are what they look like. now what?
__________________

ShannonRyu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a new video card finally KSoD System Upgrades 26 03-13-2008 11:25 PM
Video card & Mobo question.. monagi New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-25-2008 10:31 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.