Can I have multiple Floppy drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default Can I have multiple Floppy drives?

The age of the floppy is at an end (my computer didn't even include a floppy drive). But I thought a cool upgrade would be to add 2 external floppy drives so I could read and copy floppies. Is it possible to have 2 floppy drives on one computer? If so what would the other one be called (the one that wasn't your [A] Drive?
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

it will work back when floppys were it some computers had dual drives an old mobo i have supports two.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
it will work back when floppys were it some computers had dual drives an old mobo i have supports two.
Its pretty weird, my computer has a connector for a floppy drive, but it doesn't have an external 3.5" bay. Does anyone know why that would be?
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

no offence but it is an emachines.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Why would you want multiple floppys?
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

The motherboard in your pc supports a floppy, your case does not.
Yeah, you can have two floppy drives (external) without a problem. The first one will be called "A" and the second "B".
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KCRMYZ
Why would you want multiple floppys?
I was talking about back in the day when the were the main storage option
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 04:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KCRMYZ
Why would you want multiple floppys?
I said in my post why I want them, I want to be able to read and copy floppy disks. I could do it with one, but it wouldn't be as fast.
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

another piece of useless hardware...lol
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gimli of gloin
another piece of useless hardware...lol
Well, yes for tech-geeks like me it is mostly useless, but a lot of my friends still use them, so it would be nice to have a drive or 2 for when my friends came over, so they could open any files they happened to have on their floppies.
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.