Can I do this to my harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Can I do this to my harddrive

So messing up my other harddrive I decide to buy a new one... and I have windows on this and everything and it runs fine. Now what I wanted to know is can I hook my other drive up (sata) and clear it out through this windows and use it as extra space? Music, movies, games, etc..
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Can I do this to my harddrive

sure... once windows see's and installs the proper drivers for it, then you can move anything you want on it... EXCEPT...

you won't be able to move the OS on to it... that will require a full reload of the OS onto the new drive...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 06:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Can I do this to my harddrive

i thought you can move the os by using the migration tool or something.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 06:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Can I do this to my harddrive

yes you can yo can only not use the OS if there has been a major hardware change e.g. a new mobo
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Can I do this to my harddrive

there is only one way that I know of... that is to clone the hard drive with all datat on it... I know that every time I have tried to copy or migrate hard drives, I have had certain dll files missing from the move... it's as if MS locked them for that reason. Not sure though, I just know that I have never been successful with it.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharing Harddrive between OS's jordo_99 Linux and Open Source 16 06-26-2007 10:41 PM
wtb: Pc133 ram & laptop harddrive dot Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 06-24-2007 04:09 AM
hiding a harddrive, how to find it? drewjustforyou Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-18-2007 02:17 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
any program that will copy harddrive to another Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 17 06-07-2007 05:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.