can i "copy" a hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2009, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default can i "copy" a hard drive?

I plan on getting another hard drive soon, probably a solid state, instead of going through and installing and updating OS/ and all my program and files, can i make a duplicate of my current hard drive and plug it in and go?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Let me google that for you

__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
LOL. I love it. :laughing:
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

let me rephrase, if i copied my hard drive onto a new HD can i plug the new HD into my computer and take away the old one and would i run into any issues? i plan on copying the OS and programs not backing up files.
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Yes Norton ghost or FOSG can do it.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

How olds your instal?

Might be a good time to freshen up..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxon View Post
Yes Norton ghost or FOSG can do it.
Or DriveImage XML or PING or XXClone or ShadowCopy or Macrium Reflect or CloneZilla or Clone Maxx or Selfimage or...

I like DriveImage XML for backup images. It's nice and easy, but Clonezilla (or any of the others that come as a bootable cd) might be better for "cloning" a drive to replace an old one.

Also, check out your old drive manufacturer's website, they often have free cloning/copying software available...
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
How olds your instal?

Might be a good time to freshen up..
not that old, vista premium x64 with SP1 i do a clean reformat of my system every 6mo or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0dge View Post
Or DriveImage XML or PING or XXClone or ShadowCopy or Macrium Reflect or CloneZilla or Clone Maxx or Selfimage or...

I like DriveImage XML for backup images. It's nice and easy, but Clonezilla (or any of the others that come as a bootable cd) might be better for "cloning" a drive to replace an old one.

Also, check out your old drive manufacturer's website, they often have free cloning/copying software available...
k, gona check around with WD while i wait for SSD prices to come down a lil
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 07:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: can i "copy" a hard drive?

Acronis True Image works quite well.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive noise Asterix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-10-2008 04:03 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.