Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2010, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

Hello,
I have a computer sharing files to a second computer over a GigaLan network for our business, but the computers on the newtwork do not seem to be able to process the files as quickly as the master computer with the files on the local internal hardrive.

I have heard that eSATA is just as fast as if you were working locally with an internal hard drive. We were wondering if we can increase our file sharing speeds between the two computers by using eSATA (or some other way?) instead of a Gigalan network.

I only need to connect one PC to another PC. Can eSATA do this?

Many thanks.
__________________

rising_suns is offline  
Old 08-28-2010, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

Don't think this is a possibility sorry. It's not made to connect PC's together, it's an external interface for SATA devices.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 08-28-2010, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 261
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

I agree, I don't see how its possible. The only real way to connect the two and share files are either through the network or with a cross over cable which essentially the same thing
NoNameNY is offline  
Old 08-28-2010, 08:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

Are there perhaps any external storage drives/NAS that have multiple eSATA inputs for connecting to more than one PC via eSATA? Or perhaps an external eSATA hub or eSATA switch? (just tossing out ideas here)

.
rising_suns is offline  
Old 08-28-2010, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

Don't think there are drives with multiple ports for that use but there is a eSATA Hub (5-Port Multiplier) but I don't think you would be able to network though, it's merely more to attach more than 1 eSATA devices to a single host.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 08-28-2010, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

eSATA is not a networking interface, the protocol specifies one master (the PC) and one or more slaves (the drives), it works completely different from network interfaces which use addressing and routing information to transmit data to another node on the network. I suppose if you wanted to rewrite the low level driver interface to the SATA controller to include networking protocols (assuming that the hardware even allows you to reprogram the SATA protocol, which it most likely does not), but this is a ridiculous idea even to driver programmers.

Just because an interface is fast doesn't mean you can use it however you want, network is network and SATA is SATA, two entirely different types of interface. If you did have a drive that had two eSATA interfaces (which is still a messed up idea) you would have to copy from PC A to the drive, then from the drive to PC B and you might as well just plug in an eSATA drive and then switch it to the other PC if you're doing this.

Depending on how much data you want to transfer, this is probably your best option. Use an eSATA drive to store all PC A's data, then move the drive to PC B and copy the data off. If you have gigabit LAN it should be fast enough to transfer that data anyways, I'd only see a problem with 10/100 LAN which is maxed at 10MB/s or so.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

What about USB 3.0? USB is not a networking interface either, but don't they make some sort of USB bridge cable for connecting two PC's to each other?
rising_suns is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

Nope, sorry. Same reason as why Sata and eSata wouldn't work.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

USB 2.0 Host-to-Host Cable -- DataPro

Is this not a USB cable designed to connect two PC's? If it can be done for USB 2.0, maybe it exists for USB 3.0?
rising_suns is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Can I connect two PC's through eSATA instead of LAN?

I meant just by itself with a standard usb cable. Plugging in one to the other won't get you data transfer capabilities.

Of course it's possible to write up something which uses the USB protocol to send/receive data, which is what that link you posted does. Whether someone has written and released a program to do this via USB3 I don't know. If nothing has been released yet, your other options would be...
1. Buy two 10Gbps ethernet cards. Probably be about $300 each.
2. Buy two fiberchannel cards. Could cost anywhere from $60 to $500, depending on what you get.
3. Buy two more 1Gbps cards and configure load balancing on the PCs
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do i need to connect multiple PC's to the internet with a single modem dlmills Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 07-19-2009 11:19 AM
eSATA PCMCIA 808Alaska Laptops and Notebooks 8 06-02-2009 12:00 AM
eSATA PhikMan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-19-2008 08:04 PM
eSATA Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 0 09-17-2007 12:20 AM
connect 2 pc's using a cross over cable linzym Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 02-19-2004 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.