can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Drogos's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,345
Default can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

I'm currently running 2 x 2gb OCZ reaper 1066 on vista 32 ,now i was wondering if were to go 64 bit and add 2 more gb on 800 speed ram would it be a problem? since the rams r 2 different speed? i have those 2 sticks of ddr2 800 laying around i thought if i can use them why not
and ohh yeah motherboard is Gigabyte s-series GA-EP35-DS3L
thanks in advance

Drogos is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Resident Nightowl
Fat.Clown's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

you can try.
may have mixed results
make sure both sets can tolerate the volts you want to run them on

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
advancedgeek's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

its just that those 1066 ram will run at 800 but you can overclock it to easily get it back up to 1066 if your ram can overclock that much but there shouldnt be too much of a difference using 800 and 1066
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

Yeah, if you want more RAM, and you add an 800 stick, it will all run on 800mhz, which isn't a big difference from 1066 though. But you might just want to make sure you really need 6gb ram. Note that 6 gigs of ram won't help for gaming or benchmarking, or any normal usage. The only places I see it necessary is in any sort of editing (video, sound, photo). Even if you're extreme multitasking 4 gigs probably won't hold you back.
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Drogos's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

ohh i thought i was going to see a big improvement in both gaming a other stuff, i dont edit video or sound so i wont need the 2 extra gb of ram
my sis is lucky then she gets the 2 gigs for her new build lol

thanks a lot guys
Drogos is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: can i combine 1066 speed ram with 800?

The RAM has to run at the same speed. But RAM can run lower than what it was made for.

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 08:43 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 11:59 AM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 03:47 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.