Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2012, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified?

Question in the title:
Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified by the name and what's on the box?

I'm planning to buy a new CPU (AM3, not AM3+) and am going around several shops to look for some, but I would have to hate looking up the benchmarks for every new model i come across.

something like 'anything with B or e is not worth it', or 'multiply the cores by the frequency'.
a rule of thumb kind of thing
__________________

ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified?

phenom is better than athlon
e is for energy efficent
be is black edition
higher core count is generally better. (X6 > X4 > X2)
higher model number is generally better. (phenom II x4 975 > phenom II x4 970)
that's pretty much it.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified?

ah that helps a lot ,thanks

about the higher model number, at around what number would Athlon be the same speed as a Phenom?
And what's the difference between a standard and a black edition?
ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified?

From what I understand; Athlons are generally 10 to 15% slower than phenoms at the same clock speed.
I could be wrong.

black editions have unlocked multiplier, easier to overclock. if you do not overclock this does not concern you.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Can a good AMD CPU be easily identified?

Athlons are very similar to Phenoms, but only have half the on-die cache as the Phenoms.

Black Edition CPUs are unlocked and are designed to be overclocked easier than standard edition CPUs whose multiplier is locked.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Amd FX 6100 cpu good enough to handle new games on high settings? Darragh System Upgrades 2 12-27-2011 02:57 AM
Need some good MOBO suggestions for my new AMD CPU Phenom II X6 1055T soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-12-2010 04:09 AM
Really good price on AMD 3700 Cpu PcMe New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-30-2005 05:28 PM
x800 video card too good for my AMD Athlon (tm) mp 1800+ cpu? combo3010 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-25-2005 11:26 AM
How good is an AMD athlon xp 3200+ cpu aspire Overclocking and Modding 10 03-05-2005 02:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.