Can this case handle a normal size ATX mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 09:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Can this case handle a normal size ATX mobo

http://www.z-buy.com/product.asp?item=CS-TLN454

can this case handle a normal atx mobo that would have at least 3-4 PCI slots ? if it can I am going to put a socket 370 mobo in there along with 1 ghz p3 processor that should hold me over until I can secure a job and take my A+ certification exam and get a better mobo and processor.

thanks
MadMikeXP
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Well, the title of the product says "Micro ATX" so I would have to say no it can't handle a full size board... Check out Geeks.com they have some pretty decent (and cheap) boxes

http://www.geeks.com/products.asp?cat=CAS
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default

Thanks Nukem for your help, but I don't like the site and what they have to offer it seem's like 60% of their cases don't come with a power supply and I don't feel like looking around all day to find a power supply for one of their cases plus their prices are a joke....

I think I found what I was looking for:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856169001

foxconn barebone case at newegg will cost me 76.99
the duron processor which is 1.6ghz will cost 30- $38
the memory which DDR-333/400 will cost 28.00
and the hard drive which I probably get later 80gig will cost 30
the dvd-rw+- drive will go inside the case along with my dvd-cdrw combo and 40 gig will go inside of it if I wait until later to get a bigger hard drive. do you think this a good setup pc ? also keep in mind that I can replace the amd CPU something much more higher or put in socket 775 and put a P4 in there.

the total price comes to without the hard drive 142.99
-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.