Can this case handle a normal size ATX mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2006, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Can this case handle a normal size ATX mobo

can this case handle a normal atx mobo that would have at least 3-4 PCI slots ? if it can I am going to put a socket 370 mobo in there along with 1 ghz p3 processor that should hold me over until I can secure a job and take my A+ certification exam and get a better mobo and processor.


-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

Well, the title of the product says "Micro ATX" so I would have to say no it can't handle a full size board... Check out they have some pretty decent (and cheap) boxes


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956

Thanks Nukem for your help, but I don't like the site and what they have to offer it seem's like 60% of their cases don't come with a power supply and I don't feel like looking around all day to find a power supply for one of their cases plus their prices are a joke....

I think I found what I was looking for:

foxconn barebone case at newegg will cost me 76.99
the duron processor which is 1.6ghz will cost 30- $38
the memory which DDR-333/400 will cost 28.00
and the hard drive which I probably get later 80gig will cost 30
the dvd-rw+- drive will go inside the case along with my dvd-cdrw combo and 40 gig will go inside of it if I wait until later to get a bigger hard drive. do you think this a good setup pc ? also keep in mind that I can replace the amd CPU something much more higher or put in socket 775 and put a P4 in there.

the total price comes to without the hard drive 142.99
-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.