can anyone suggest an AGP video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Bigadaboosh
Default can anyone suggest an AGP video card?

My computer is messing up alot. It will freeze for no apparent reason and when trying to restart my monitor will not show what is happening, but i can hear windows starting up as it should. I dont know for sure if its my monitor or my video card but i think its the video card.
Can somone suggest one to me in the 150-230 range.
__________________

Bigadaboosh is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

eVGA nVidia Geforce 6600GT.

Or, if it ever comes out, the 6800GS AGP...
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, the 6800GS is out in AGP now. It's $215 at monarchcomputers. eVGA even makes it! That'll be the best card you can get in AGP unless you argue that the 6800GT is better.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yes the 6800GS AGP is on Newegg.com too.

So from Nvidia I'd reccomend the 6600GT or the 6800GS.

From ATI I'd reccomend the X800GTO.

I'd really reccomend upgrading your motherboard to a PCI-express complaint one though, especially if you plan on upggrading this one in the future.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Bigadaboosh
Default

http://www.compuplus.com/i-ATI-Radeo...gnj717q66.html

what about this one?
Bigadaboosh is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Eh, it's OK, but the 6600GT kicks its butt.

Brtnboarder495, your sig is WAAAAAAY TOO BIG!!! Max is 468*120.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Bigadaboosh
Default

could you explain why a 6600 gt kicks its butt? i just need to know these things.
Bigadaboosh is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

i'd say go with the 6600gt if you dont want to spend a lot of money but if you are willing to kick in the full $230 like you said than i would go with the 6800GS.


LoL we are talking about videocards here and macdude is worrying about how big the other guys sig is rofl that is hilarious.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Bigadaboosh
Default

the 6800 has a core clock of 350 mhz, isnt that low ?
Bigadaboosh is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
Eh, it's OK, but the 6600GT kicks its butt.

Brtnboarder495, your sig is WAAAAAAY TOO BIG!!! Max is 468*120.


dude maybe you have your screen resolution set different or something because his sig is like almost the same size as yours.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.