CAD and general use graphics card question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2012, 03:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Question CAD and general use graphics card question

Hello,

I am a mechanical guy so i know i don't have anywhere near an optimal system. However, I hope this question is not too vague or hard to answer.

I am wondering how much better CAD and general use (Videos, movies, CAD) of my computer will be by upgrading from a geforce 8300gs (junk) to a Quadro fx 3450?? maybe even a FPS (call of duty was terrible on the 8300gs) haven't played in years but you get the idea.

I have the quadro (from a buddy) and only need a molex-to-pcie power connector to run it, from my research.

Is it worth buying the connector? This card look very expensive when it came out, so I have hopes it can limp my pc on further with the adapter.

Again keep this in comparison to my current card (8300gs) so they both are not complete junk!

Thanks guys
[h=1][/h]
__________________

arizona is offline  
Old 02-04-2012, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CAD and general use graphics card question

What is the rest of your system?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-04-2012, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: CAD and general use graphics card question

The Quadro FX 3450 is roughly a souped up 6800. It will perform better than your 8300GS but will not be a major step up.

The Quadro cards are made for workstation/CAD work, though, in that they have a larger memory throughput for handling the graphics used in them. I would swap them out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2012, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: CAD and general use graphics card question

Ok here is what I know... BE kind it was bought in 2007......

FoxConn G33m02 motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 (2.33 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)

2gb ram.
arizona is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General Question - CPU/Graphics Card/ etc Hardware Lifetime? pinoy3000 Overclocking and Modding 11 01-01-2009 02:42 PM
Yet another Graphics card question... djmaddogfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-30-2008 09:48 AM
graphics card question m6qrp System Upgrades 3 09-15-2007 12:17 AM
cad gfx card vs gamin card and Turion vs Core duo question Swordsikan New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-02-2006 12:02 PM
Question about this Video card: EVGA e-GeForce 6200 Graphics Card (256A8N341DX) mikepg New Systems | Building and Buying 11 03-15-2006 09:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.