Cache really important for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2009, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Question Cache really important for gaming?

I might get a budget gaming rig someday and my possible processor options are a E3200 or a E5200.

Does the cache affects that much on gaming?

(It will be only for gaming, I have a regular PC for normal stuff.)
__________________

brozium is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 04:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
glenskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: computer chair, New Zealand
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to glenskey
Default Re: Cache really important for gaming?

processor cache is pretty-much important for everything --it acts as ram directly stored in the cpu, as to allow access speeds unimaginable with regular ram. so the more you have, the faster graphics will render
__________________

glenskey is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 06:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Cache really important for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brozium View Post
I might get a budget gaming rig someday and my possible processor options are a E3200 or a E5200.

Does the cache affects that much on gaming?

(It will be only for gaming, I have a regular PC for normal stuff.)
Short Answer = More Cache, Better Performance.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 14
Default Re: Cache really important for gaming?

Ive got the E5200 , it's not too bad on some stuff I play but has its limits.
Yes, more cache seems to help . the e5200 when I bought it for $ 65.00 was a good
choice for my budget gaming pc at the time. Ithink you might be able to find something bit better at the moment though for a budget game rig.
freezer is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Cache really important for gaming?

There are not large differences in cache between cpu's.

If you buy a CPU you normally compare architecture over cache and clock speeds.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Chrome Cache Viewer Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-10-2009 09:36 AM
Firefox Cache Viewer Gui Frontend Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-19-2009 04:43 PM
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
Unlocking 6mb cache in phenom ii x4 810 is possible thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 0 03-09-2009 04:19 PM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.