Cache Memory & Acer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2007, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default Cache Memory & Acer

A coupla' basic noob questions for ya:

I'm about to buy a new computer, and I'm wondering:

1. How much cache memory should I get? 512kb? 1MB? 2MB? I don't have very high-end needs; I don't do any video editing and I don't play video games. I mostly just work with Excel, watch videos and DVD's, and browse the web. I just want the computer to run these things fast and smoothly. One computer I'm looking at has 512kb + 512kb on die Level 2 cache memory. Does that basically equate to 1 MB cache memory?

2. What is Acer's reputation as a brand? One of the computers I'm looking at is an Acer Aspire desktop, and I haven't heard anything good or bad with regard to Acer's reputation. The only one that I've heard consistent complaints about is Dell.

Please fill me in. Thanks!

paco joe is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Cache Memory & Acer

In your case, you don't need alot of cache, since you said you don't do gaming and video editing. 1mb will be fine, even 512kb is fine.

Acer.....I haven't heard their reputation on desktops, but they make decent LCDs.


b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 12:46 PM
Vista whoring nearly half my ram needlessly? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 16 05-07-2007 03:50 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 05:25 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 01:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.