Cable compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2008, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Cable compatibility

Ok I couldnt figure out where to post this so i figured i would post it here since it has to do with video cables. ok so i have the samsung Syncmaster 940 BW monitor and i want to get a Dvi splitter so i can hook up my 360 and pc to my monitor. i was looking on amazon and this cheap splitter looked cool but the connectors dont look exactly the same even tho they are dvi. does anyone know if the two would work together? thanks

Monitor:
Amazon.com: Samsung 940BW Widescreen Analog / Digital LCD Monitor: Electronics

Splitter:
Amazon.com: DVI-D Splitter: Electronics
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Cable compatibility

It seems like a standard splitter to me. There aren't any pics of the monitors connector, but it says its DVI, so I'm thinking it should be good.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Cable compatibility

Hello,

Yep.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cable compatibility

ok thanks. the only reason I was wondering was because the splitter has just like a row of prongs but when i ussually plug a dvi cable into my monitor it has a square of 9 prongs then a space and then another 9 prongs
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Cable compatibility

This is neither here nor there, but probably the hardware section, since you are dealing with hardware
mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Australia to get a new submarine cable Harper SEO and Web Traffic 4 04-14-2008 10:30 AM
PSU Cable Extensions Blitersety Overclocking and Modding 7 01-12-2008 10:17 PM
Will my HD work with this cable? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-01-2007 01:32 PM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.