Buying ram for someone else - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2006, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default Buying ram for someone else

im buying some ram for a friend and she has a 5 yr old hp no model or anything with me this is what i got off everst pc2100(133mh) dimm1 DDR SDRAM and i dont deal with old technology any help is greatly appriciated... and while im at it sometimes both of her optical drives will be unreconized by the computer... i thought it was a ide cable prob and it seemed it worked for a while but then it just happend again.... sometimes it will work for her and sometimes it wont. Im replacing the ide cable now but what else could it be?

thanks
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well when these drives are not recognized, do they even receive power? Like do they spin up, and open up?


Also for the memory, just grab a stick of 184-pin DDR (speed does not make a difference) since pc3200 is either the same price or cheaper than pc2100.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

you have to explain to him man. so here it goes: any memory higher than PC2100 or DDR 266 like PC3200 or DDR 400 would be compatible with your system because the higher frequency one would just get downclocked. and yeah i am seeing about the same price for all kinds of memorys in the same size so just find the one's reasonably cheap.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

theyre powered and everything but one ( the master) will have the reading light be on constently and will sometimes open... she showed me her little trick but i forget how she did it. ok thanks u save me a few bucks i figured it was old 168 pin mem but i guess not anyways i got the ide cable as snug as i could and everything was perfect when i was over there. Im glad im not the only one who like that 70's show now one else my age likes that show (16) .
harley3344 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

that optical drive might be dying they don't have a very long lifetime. do you have another one to test that?
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the yellow one
you have to explain to him man. so here it goes: any memory higher than PC2100 or DDR 266 like PC3200 or DDR 400 would be compatible with your system because the higher frequency one would just get downclocked. and yeah i am seeing about the same price for all kinds of memorys in the same size so just find the one's reasonably cheap.
oh well.. i said that they would still work.. isnt that nuff' said?
With all of the words you just said... you confused him.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

well we'll have to ask him about that.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

lol it takes a lot more then that to confuse me... im not a complete novis to comps ive just not had the oppertunitys to learn all the small things, this is old technology i thinkthey bought that comp when i was 7-9 so i wasnt intocomputers then :P any newer technology im fine with (other then a few things that i would like to know like could i stick a nvidia card in a crossfire mobo?) just some of the compadibilitys (and spelling) i have probs with but then thats where this site comes into play. thanks i appreciate everything

edit: would the master being frizzed out cause the seconday not to be reconized at all? and yes tere is power to both... ive had my dvd burner for 2 yrs now and i burn something everyday almost.... although my 5 yr old comp cd drive doesnt want to give up its cds, isnt that a prity long life considering that technology doubles every 6 months (moors law i think).
harley3344 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

i guess anything would be confusing if they don't know anything about it.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

OK i need a new PSU but ive looked at pics and kno it wont fit...could i jus plug in all the cords and jus leave the PSU on top of my rig? because it wont fit so i cant screw it in...I NEED A PSU SO THIS IS MY LAST (REDNECK) RESORT! is it wise to do this? will it heat up and fry?
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.