Buying RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Buying RAM

I looked in the RAM tutorial, but it only answered part of my question. Currently I have one gig of Corsair XMS RAM, specs are: 3200 (200mhz) and a CAS Latency of 3. What I want to know is if I buy a gig of RAM that has a CAS Latency of 2 or 2.5, will I run into any problems? Also, if I were to buy a different brand of RAM or a different type of Corsair RAM (ie something other than XMS), would I run into any problems?
__________________

go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Buying RAM

Download a program called CPU-Z and check the model of your RAM.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Re: Buying RAM

Model #: CMX512-3200C2

Thinking of getting this set of RAM:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Buying RAM

As the model (well Max Bandwith), I meant:



Did you download CPU-Z like I asked you to?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Re: Buying RAM

Ya, I did, I have had cpu-z for awhile. But I didn't think by saying Model # you meant max bandwidth. Anyways, the max bandwidth is PC 3200 (200mhz).
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Buying RAM

Yes, my mistake. I forgot to edit the post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by go_sharks86 View Post
What I want to know is if I buy a gig of RAM that has a CAS Latency of 2 or 2.5, will I run into any problems? Also, if I were to buy a different brand of RAM or a different type of Corsair RAM (ie something other than XMS), would I run into any problems?
I think you might run into some problems. You can buy different brand name's of RAM but you will also have to get the exact speed. Otherwise if you get a higher one, it'll just downclock to the lowest speed RAM. Why not just buy another stick of XMS since you already have a gig of it?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default Re: Buying RAM

XMS is like 120 bucks, Value RAM is like 55.
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Buying RAM

Do what I did. Sell it on Ebay and grab two gigs of G.skill for 109 bucks. I bought my XMS for 134 but sold it for 80 bucks and just spent alittle more for 2 gigs. Its worth it
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Re: Buying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by go_sharks86 View Post
I looked in the RAM tutorial, but it only answered part of my question. Currently I have one gig of Corsair XMS RAM, specs are: 3200 (200mhz) and a CAS Latency of 3. What I want to know is if I buy a gig of RAM that has a CAS Latency of 2 or 2.5, will I run into any problems? Also, if I were to buy a different brand of RAM or a different type of Corsair RAM (ie something other than XMS), would I run into any problems?
Most of the time, no, you won't have any problem running CAS 2.5 or 2 at CAS 3. You are running it at a slower clock rate than it's rated for. Generally, you only have trouble running memory at a higher clock rate than it's made for. For example, trying to run CAS 3 RAM at 2.5 or 2.0 will often cause problems. Another part of the equation is voltage. CAS 2 or 2.5 memory might expect a higher voltage (set in the motherboard BIOS on most motherboards), but again, if you are underclocking it, you might not need to go as high as the recommended voltage. I recommend that you do.

Your RAM will all run at CAS 3, of course. The BIOS will set the system to run at the speed of the slowest chip.

Mixing brands generally doesn't cause problems either, but stick with well-tried name brands. Corsair, Crucial, Mushkin, OCZ, Kingston (not as much) in that order. I've also had good luck with Patriot Data Systems memory, but some people haven't.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 09:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Buying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Do what I did. Sell it on Ebay and grab two gigs of G.skill for 109 bucks. I bought my XMS for 134 but sold it for 80 bucks and just spent alittle more for 2 gigs. Its worth it
Crucial Ballistix would have been a better choice.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help buying my first digital camera. Saint71 Web Graphics and Design 3 08-19-2007 09:43 AM
Buying a Laptop psychedelos Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-03-2007 12:01 PM
Buying a New Gaming Computer 1650$ Budget GrinchMan New Systems | Building and Buying 80 07-21-2007 02:04 PM
buying stuff from amazon rookie1010 Internet Software and Browsers 5 05-09-2007 10:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.