Buying a PC for Games

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam5k1

Beta member
Hi guys....:)

I'm about to buy a new computer, but i'm just wondering about the graphics card... which is the best type of graphics card to go for in your opinions (nvidia, ATI etc) bearing in mind the cost/performance ratio?? Is there a big difference between 256 and 512mb memory size??

Also can someone explain to me how Texture Fill Rate and memory bandwith affect the performance while playing games?

Thanks m8s and sorry if i sound like a total noob, just want to make sure i get the best deal for my money ;)

basically i want to spend around £500-£700... i dunno much about computers but this is what i had in mind....

i want 2gb RAM (minimum), Intel Core duo 2.4 GHZ (minimum), Hard drive... well i have 120gb at the moment and i've never really come close to filling it, so not too fussed :D.

dunno much about anything else... basically i just want it to run games with sweet graphics! :)

Btw, also... i heard Vista is a piece of poo :laughing: .... is it better to have XP???

If i had to say anything, in my personal opinion i think amd is alot better for gamming and also get an nvidia GForce 8600 or 8800 Or even wait till the end of the year and get a 9000 series.. yes the 9000 series will be a little more money they you want to spend but you will be able to run any game that comes out for probally the next 8 years.

Heres an ok Build For you

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor - Retail

Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N758-TR GeForce 8600GT SSC 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Newegg.com - Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Newegg.com - ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail