Buying a new laptop - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 06:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rapid
Windows has had much more success then the Mac...maybe because its capable of handling real world tasks...not just multimedia and entertainment. The tons of versions of Windows shows that Microsoft is financially capable of developing its OS with the market. More people use it, more feedback on improvements = better OS that addresses real issues.
Windows is an OS plagued with viruses. It's worn out, and it needs to be rewritten.

Lots of different versions of it shows that it is in need of improvement. Versions don't matter, if you want to get technical, Mac OS X has had 10.0, 10.0.1, 10.0.2, 10.0.3, etc to 10.4.7.

If you think that Windows is better because you get Microsoft Office, think again. MS makes office for Mac too, Openoffice.org runs on all OS's. Windows sucks for server applications, Linux wins.

Windows wins for games, Linux does to. Mac has games too. They are all capable of doing everything, but they all have their ups and downs. If you can't except the fact that they all have their uses and their niches in the the "real world", then you are stubburn and are missing out, you also need to be pimp slapped.

I have a desktop with Linux and Windows on it. My Macbook Pro has OS X and Windows on it. I know what I am talking about.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 06:32 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Easy there fella.... no one made fun of you for being Canadian... why do you have to be so harsh on Mac's?

You asked for suggestions, and that is what you were given... then you spat on one of them, produced skewed details, and put an issue-prone OS on a pedistal.... That is totally weak, especially for a use with 11 posts......
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 06:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rapid
Giving up Mac OS X was Apple's smartest move yet.
Apple "gave up" on OS X by adding support for Windows just about as much as HP "gave up" on Windows with the creation of HP-UX. And just about as much as Dell did for selling servers with Linux on them instead of just selling Windows Server 2003. If you think they "gave up" on Mac OS X, then you are sorely mistaken.

And if you think Windows on a Mac means no Mac OS X, then you obviously have no idea...

And if Mac's can't operate the "real world" then how does Apple, a multi-national, multi-billion dollar company run itself using just Mac's?

You lose.
The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 06:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
And if Mac's can't operate the "real world" then how does Apple, a multi-national, multi-billion dollar company run itself using just Mac's?
A little off topic, but how hard would you laugh if you went into Apple's HQ, and see that they use DELL's....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:07 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Just about as hard as I laughed when I read that Microsoft used several Unix servers.
The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 10:56 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Default

I guess you know what your talking about....dont you live in Silicon Valley? I know I passed through Bakersfield, but that was long ago. I remember going to Fry's and being dissapointed by seeing the same prices. I thought they would be cheaper there.

I'll still never get a Mac, and maybe because Windows has worked flawlessly for me for years. Im just hating it because of those **** stupid commercials....and the ridiculous actions of the company that makes Mac look like its the best OS.
Rapid is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Look at the recent Microsoft commercials and then talk to us.

However, if that's what you want, then that's what you want.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 09:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
Easy there fella.... no one made fun of you for being Canadian... why do you have to be so harsh on Mac's?

You asked for suggestions, and that is what you were given... then you spat on one of them, produced skewed details, and put an issue-prone OS on a pedistal.... That is totally weak, especially for a use with 11 posts......
This is sad...dont bring up nationality if you're American.
I had duel citizenship and intentionally gave up my American one for quicker processing through airports.
Rapid is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:20 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
no one made fun of you for being Canadian
I've read through the thread time and time again, and I still have no idea what you're talking about. How do you even know he's from Canadia? (We say it like that here, it's my little joke. ) It doesn't say Canada in his location, it says nothing...
The General is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:05 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
I've read through the thread time and time again, and I still have no idea what you're talking about. How do you even know he's from Canadia? (We say it like that here, it's my little joke. ) It doesn't say Canada in his location, it says nothing...
He saw my CAD currency unit request.

or
He's probably trying to be a smart-*** and checked my IP location.
__________________

Rapid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.