Buying a new HDD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skooma

Beta member
In my pc i currently have 2x250gb SATAs in RAID 0. I want to buy a new HDD to install XP on (currently have Vista on the 250gb drives) but i have a couple of questions.

1. Will buying a new HDD affect my RAID 0 setup? I'm pretty sure that it won't but I just want to make sure.

2. Here is the hard drive i was looking at buying - Komplett.ie - Samsung SpinPoint T166 320GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM Now, it says this drive is SATA2 (as you may have guessed I've had no experience with SATAs before) and i have no idea if it will work. Is it something that your motherboard needs to support? (it's a dell 9200, pretty new like, but the motherboard is probably ****)

3. The ports on my motherboard. I've opened it up and inside my 250gb drives are connected with blue cables to two ports side by side on the motherboard. There are 4 other ports together near them, one of which has an orange cable (like the blue ones but orange) going to my disc drive. Now I've checked the BIOS and it says i have 6 SATA ports, i assume they're the ones i just described, and that when i get the new drive i will just plug it in beside the orange one into one of the ports, but i would like someone to confirm.

I'm actually not a complete idiot when it comes to computers (as the above post would suggest :confused:), but anyway, any help here would be appreciated, thanks.

Also, is it common for new hard drives to include SATA cables? Because if not I'll have to order some with it.

Great thanks. Do you know anything about SATA2 (i think you got mixed up between the end of my post and my question 2:happy:)

Another question, is it possible to add another disk the RAID? i know it would probably involve reformatting, but it is something i would consider when i get rid of XP. Do the drives all have to be the same size, with the same cache though?