Buying New Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2010, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Buying New Hard Drive

Ok so ive been a seagate fan for the longest time ever ... but recently ive went on newegg and read some pretty nasty reviews of bad sectors and blue screens. Quite a few of them actually. Has seagate lost its reliability with the baraccudas this past and current year?

Some feedback on what to purchase, im mainly looking for storage, at least 500GB.
__________________

Svoloch is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Seagate has taken a beating ever since they bought out Maxtor. They have dropped their warranty down to three years or less across the board. Sad to see, actually.

Look at the Western Digital Black series. 32MB cache, super fast, and a five year warranty. The Samsung Spinpoint F3's are a tad faster, but they are 1TB and up. If you need massive storage they are the way to go, but for 500GB+, grab a WD Black.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Also for storage only the wd greens are nice. Not as fast as the blacks but they use less power.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Seagate has taken a beating ever since they bought out Maxtor. They have dropped their warranty down to three years or less across the board. Sad to see, actually.

Look at the Western Digital Black series. 32MB cache, super fast, and a five year warranty. The Samsung Spinpoint F3's are a tad faster, but they are 1TB and up. If you need massive storage they are the way to go, but for 500GB+, grab a WD Black.
Actually, there's a Samsung Spinpoint F3 500Gb and 250Gb but recently I don't think Newegg has offered the 500Gb drive, though other sites still sell it.

http://www.provantage.com/samsung-hd502hj~7SAMA058.htm

Last I checked Newegg was selling the 250Gb Spinpoint F3's still, though they aren't a very good price per gigabyte point.
I think it's $40-45 for the 250Gb, where as you can get a 500Gb hard drive for $5-15 more.


Also, the Samsung Spinpoint F3's are only faster in sequential read/write speeds and burst speeds. Their random access times are slower than the Caviar Blacks, so they're only better if you commonly transfer larger files around (300Mb+) if you're more prone to accessing or using smaller files the Caviar Blacks would be better than the Spinpoint F3's. (As was pointed out to me by Slaymate, thanks SM)
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

I don't know if there is something wrong with the WD Black drives but I have two of them and the transfer speeds are slow and I have seen other threads with the same problem. Right now I am not to happy with them. Of course, it could be my system causing the problem and not the drives.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I don't know if there is something wrong with the WD Black drives but I have two of them and the transfer speeds are slow and I have seen other threads with the same problem. Right now I am not to happy with them. Of course, it could be my system causing the problem and not the drives.
What do you mean by "slow"?
Can you give some numbers?
HD Tune Pro is good for getting some somewhat accurate transfer speeds.
(Let it run for at least a few minutes before you make any judgments.)
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 12:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

I have used HD Tune Pro to test it and it gives me an average of 72 mb's. But when I try to transfer a large group of files from one drive to the other, I get real slow transfer speeds. It will start out around 100mb's and then slowly keep dropping to the point of almost nothing. This is my second set of drives. I RMA'd the first set because of this. In my situation, I am thinking there is something else wrong. But I have seen several other threads saying the same thing.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I have used HD Tune Pro to test it and it gives me an average of 72 mb's. But when I try to transfer a large group of files from one drive to the other, I get real slow transfer speeds. It will start out around 100mb's and then slowly keep dropping to the point of almost nothing. This is my second set of drives. I RMA'd the first set because of this. In my situation, I am thinking there is something else wrong. But I have seen several other threads saying the same thing.
Those speeds are abysmal...
Have they been defragged?
What format are they? NTFS? FAT?

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

thx for the input guys appreciate it. Was wrecking my head on this one cuz i havent kept up with HDs for awhile
Svoloch is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Buying New Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
Those speeds are abysmal...
Have they been defragged?
What format are they? NTFS? FAT?

What motherboard do you have?
Yeah, tell me about it. The drives have been defragged, and they are NTFS. The thing is I have already RMA'd the drives and the replacements do the same thing. So this has me thinking it is something else. I RMA'd the motherboard and they said the only thing wrong with it was a bad bios. I am trying to find an identical motherboard to buy and see if that solves the problem.

My motherboard is a Gigabyte P35-DS3L.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
external hard drive questions wallstreetjourn2 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-06-2008 03:35 AM
Playststion 3 Hard drive upgrade guide (56k warning, plenty of photos) solidsteve Sony Playstation 9 08-20-2008 10:18 AM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.