buying new graphic card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default buying new graphic card

my old graphic blew up a couple of days ago and im planing to buy a new card

im thinking of buying a card from centrecom

http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...10&cPath=93_26

which 1 is best for me i only play warcraft and cs and i have a price range of 250-300
__________________

mikako is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

eVGA GeForce 6800GT. at newegg.com

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130215
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm guessing your australian by the fact your using this site. have a look at nintek.com.au they have some good prices. i would get a 6600gt.

edit: *dances around the room* wooooo 1000 posts- monster techie
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

good job nitestick!! :-D i've got 100 to go
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

guitar freak.....australian website he can't afford that much in US dollars

edit: thanks man
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default

yes i am australian

are any cards in centrecom any good

that is the only computer store near by
mikako is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok i thought it was an online shop. i don't normally use online retailers either. nintek.com.au are very relaible though and have free delivery on all orders over $200 within 25km of the CBD of any australian city. there based out of my city so if it doesn't turn up i can go have a word with them for you . all i can suggest is look at the 6600gt's post back which one your interested in and we'll say whether or not we think it's a good choice

edit: also is your motherboard AGP or PCI-E?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default

right now im looking at the 6600gt
http://www.nintek.com.au/x/scripts/p...idproduct=1616

is dat a good choice

ta

i got a apg slot

*AGP
mikako is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default

i just brought a 6600gt buh it didnt work the fan didnt move

the reason i change graphic card becos the other 1 stop working the fan didnt move aswell and the screen never goes on

is the card i jsut brought faulty or is it motherboard or psu problems

my psu is 320 watts

i put a geforce 2 into it and it worked

help me please
mikako is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

No, if the fan on the video card isn't moving, more than likely your card was DOA, especially seeing as how the GeForce2 works.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.