Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2009, 03:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

I am planning to buy a new desktop. I will use it for average gaming and will not be overclocking. I am mainly interested in the download speed, internet surfing, and running different applications simultaneously.

I have narrowed down to following:
Processor: Q6600 core 2 quad
Motherboard: ASUS P5QL-PRO
Graphic card : HD 4670(512MB)
Hard Drive: 500GB, Western Digital,7200rpm,16MB cache
RAM: 4GB OCZ(800MHz)

I have a choice between following motherboards:
ASUS P5QL-PRO
ASUS P5Q
ASUSP5Q-PRO
Gigabyte GA-EP43
Gigabyte GA-EP45

Please suggest me with special mention to motherboard.
__________________

aftab43 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

Don't get the Q6600. It's outdated, and the new ones are crap. Grab a Q9400 instead:

Newegg.com - Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Nothing is really going to affect your download speed/internet surfing except for your internet connection.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

I'd also change the mobo to the P5Q or Pro. The P5QL is a P43 chipset, and a P45 would be better for the quad.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Nothing is really going to affect your download speed/internet surfing except for your internet connection.
But what about THIS:

/sarcasm

Although it does help a very small degree, it is most definitely not necessary for just internet browsing, or gaming for that matter That is unless you make 7 figures a month and just need to spend money for fear that your bank account will explode.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

^ What is that? Fiber Optic Internet would make a difference.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
^ What is that? Fiber Optic Internet would make a difference.
It's a Killer NIC dedicated "gaming" network card.

Oh, and I have FiOS
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

Ah, man you have FiOS? Wish my neighbourhood supported it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

OH MAN THE G1 KILLER GAMING NIC LOLOLOLOL.

That thing is such a waste of money. Lmao.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Buying a new Desktop-suggestion please for configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
Ah, man you have FiOS? Wish my neighbourhood supported it.
Yep. 20mb/s down and 5mb/s up. Although I've seen it get as high as 23mb/s down and 7mb/s up. I am probably going to upgrade it again in the next year or so to the 50mb/s down 50mb/s up tier. Talk about some killer speeds for my server and guaranteed hosting on Xbox Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
OH MAN THE G1 KILLER GAMING NIC LOLOLOLOL.

That thing is such a waste of money. Lmao.
Hehehehe
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Renaming Desktop & Mobile GPUs Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 12-05-2008 05:15 PM
Desktop problem... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-26-2007 04:20 PM
Desktop crashed sujitm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 07-06-2007 04:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.