Buying a new Desktop, lmk What you think...?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 09:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Lightbulb Buying a new Desktop, lmk What you think...?!

Hi guys,

recently my laptop has given up the ghost after a year and two months of heavy use, and along with that being repaired, I'm going to buy a new computer. The specs I'm showing are preliminary and I would like to hear what you think about them, and opinions on upgrading. I'm not looking to spend more than £1000. But if something really important, (you think), is a good idea then a can possibly spend I tiny bit more....

I'm buying from a, (what I've heard), reliable, good company called Golden Electronics, who you may have seen on eBay, they sell a lot of stuff there...! I'm going to be buying the different parts seperately, (ie monitor and computer), and the computers specs are going to probably be:

Processor: AMD64 Athlon X2 4200+ 1Mb cache
Memory: 1.0GB DDR 400mhz
Hard Disk Drive: 200GB IDE ATA133 8MB buffer
Optical Drive: 16x Sony Double-Layer DVD+/-RW
PCI-Express Graphics card: ATI Radeon X550XT 256MB PCI-E TV/DVI
Operating System: Geniune Microsoft Windows XP Pro SP2
Sound Card: Audigy Soundblaster 7.1 24-bit
Accessories: Firewire Card
Internet and Networking: PCI Wireless 802.11G card
Peripherals: Wireless Logitech keyboard and mouse
Warranty: 3 Years Standard Warranty
Case: Thermaltake Tsunami Dream (550W PSU)

That comes out to a reasonable: £844.95.

I think that that is a good price, and it would be coming in this case:



A Thermaltake Tsunami Dream, which from what I've heard is a solidly built good looking case.

I am then buying the monitor from SCAN computers, which is a very reliable, (reasonably well known), company based in Bolton. The monitor is a Hyundai B71A, (I think), and I feel it goes well with the Case, and it looks great, (previous experience).



I think that's everything. Please let me know what you honestly think, oh yeah, and I'd be getting the case without the window probably, (unless you can convince me otherwise), as I personally prefer it that way...

Oh yes, and if you think that XP Pro X64 is a good investment let me know, its only a £10 extra, but apparantly there are issues, (?).

Thanks again,

Charlie -
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Windows x64 is a mess as far as compatibility and drivers go. You'll be searching all day for drivers that don't exist.

As far as the computer goes, here's a few things I think...

That processor... You may as well get the 3800+ and overclock it a tiny bit to get it to 4200 speeds. The 4200 is just a mildly overclocked version of the 3800+. If you do want a speed increase, you may as well go for the 4400+. it has 2x1mb of L2 cache.

Video card... If gaming, that video card is not for you. If you're doing DVD's and regular applications, it'll be fine. But if you are gaming, I'd suggest going with the X700 at a bare minimum. The nVidia 6800GS would also be a good bet. It's $200 American.

Operating System... If you're not doing any heavy networking, then I wouldn't worry about going with XP Pro. XP Home offers everything a person needs for a PC. XP Pro just eases the pain when you're moving around from LAN to LAN.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Thanks very much for the advice, I have changed it slightly. I've changed to:

- AMD64 Athlon X2 4400+ 2Mb cache
- ATI Radeon X800GTO PCI-E 256MB
- Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

Does that help would you say?

(because gaming would be a thing really, would the graphics card make a serious difference, because they are both quite large...?!) and the price is considerably different....

Thanks,

Charlie-
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Oh yeah, and would you reccomend this:

NVidia GeForce 6600GT PCI-E 256MB DDR3 TV/DVI

or this:

ATI Radeon X800GTO PCI-E 256MB

As they are the same price and I'd just like to know which one you'd reccomend....?!
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Okay, I hate to reply to my own thread repeatedly, but look at this spec and tell me what you think:

Processor: AMD64 Athlon X2 3800+ 1Mb cache;
Memory: 1.0GB DDR 400mhz (Recommended);
Hard Disk Drive: 160GB IDE ATA133 8MB buffer;
Optical Drive: 16x Sony Double-Layer DVD+/-RW;
SLI PCI-Express Graphics card: ATI Radeon X700 512MB DDR2 TV/DVI;
Operating System: Geniune Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2;
Sound card: Audigy Soundblaster 7.1 24-bit;
Accessories: Firewire Card; Internet and
Networking: PCI Wireless 802.11G card;
Peripherals: Wireless Logitech keyboard and mouse;
Warranty: 3 Years Platinum Warranty;
Case: Thermaltake Tsunami Dream;
PSU: 600W HiPoint PSU

I think that's better or am I wrong? good graphics? better PSU and Warranty?

And of course this model is SLI which is meant to be awesome....
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

Go for it i love your build minus the graphic card
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Thanks for that, but which one?
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

how much are you willing to spend?
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
Windows x64 is a mess as far as compatibility and drivers go. You'll be searching all day for drivers that don't exist.


Logitech just releasde the compleate 64bit driver packaeg for all of theire curent devices at least according to an arical i read yesterday...
suposedly you can go to theire support page and download what you need
__________________
!!!!NEW BUILD!!!!
Asus A8n SLI-939 deluxe
Athlon 64 3000+
Antec SLI ready 550wt PSU
AMD Athlon64 3200+
320+ gb of hd
1Gb Kingston HyperX pc3200/400Mz
xfx 6800 extreme 256Mb FOC
antech p180
Lord Leviathan is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Not much more than £1k....
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.