Buying a laptop and need help,which one should I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Should I wait until Vista?
Yeah, things will be much cheaper! 0 0%
No, things won't be that much/at all cheaper! 2 100.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Default Buying a laptop and need help,which one should I get?

The laptop must be decent for playing games and good for playing movies.Also it should be good for downloading things.
It would also be helpful if it doesn't overheat much,but that's not a big concern.
__________________

shivy is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

It would be nice if you had specs on it. From the top of my head, The APple probably wouldn't be good for gaming. I know the older ibook's or something had like FX5500's in them as the stock card. The E1505 i believe you can upgrade to a 7900GS? Or a X1400XT which putting it an easy way sucks. Never heard of the Sony SZ.

Here is what i would recommend

Core duo, Intel centrino, AMD 64 - Multitasking, gaming, downloads

At least 1GB of ram, more would be +++

Hdd space, you probably know how much you would need 60GB+

Video card is what you want to mainly focus on gaming, something along sides a 7800 and upwards, I think a 6800 ultra would hold you over to. If it is what you want to play on high settings of these games out right now. 7300, 7400, X1400, X1300, intel integrated. All these graphics card stay away they suck!!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Default

O well the Sony SZ has a 7400,but a good idea of how I want a laptop is it should be able to run battlefield 2 at max or close to it.
shivy is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Running BF2 @ close to max would require a 6800 ultra and up. Or an X1800 and up from ATI. Also running with no minimum of 1GB of ram.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 01:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Unfortunately, i'd have to recommend Dell this time.

Sony is overpriced for what you get, and Macintosh is just not my choice.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Default

please volunteer in poll thank you, I really need opinions
shivy is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Default

please keep posting, i need all the feedback i can get plz
shivy is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

We can not help you by just looking at the brand. We need specs, specs, and more specs!!

Processor
Ram
HDD
Screen
Optical drives
OS, not really but put it here anyways
VIDEO CARD
etc
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I would help you out if you would post the specs of the laptops that you're looking at. Help me help you.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

apple and i can confidently say that WITHOUT the specs of the others comps or the mac itself.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Closed Thread

« brands | ram help »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.