Which to buy to help performance in half life 2? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 04:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

both
__________________

__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 12:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sprtnbsblplya
both
ya get one now then one later
__________________

__________________
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

ok. Since ram is always there and always is the same price, and since good socket A mobos are hard to comeby these days, I think i might get the motherboard first. Sine it is sokcet A and they are old motherboards i don't think it would be too bad that it is refurbished. It's just like buying a used one of ebay.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default

Whats the point of buying a new mobo, when he wants to be getting a 939 cpu this summer, be buying two mobos then :s. Just get the ram, it'll make it a bit nicer, get a new pc in the summer tho
__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IGeMex
Whats the point of buying a new mobo, when he wants to be getting a 939 cpu this summer, be buying two mobos then :s. Just get the ram, it'll make it a bit nicer, get a new pc in the summer tho
yeah in fact minus well start buying stuff for it now. I will either get the ram or a socket939 mobo.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

I guess you could work your way to building up soem PC3200 RAM that will work well with your new mobo this summer, that would be a more long-term thing if thats what you're lookin to do.
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 01:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

just looked at your other thread for your new comp.

just to let you know, i have the same msi mobo, and if you plan to make 2 gigs using four 512mb sticks in dual channel, it will force you to run it in ddr333 as opposed to ddr400. so if you want 2gb in ddr400 you'll have to use 2 sticks of 1gb.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 01:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

go with the mobo, start building now, or getting ready to build.. if i was able to suffer 4 months with a compaq, you can do it!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:15 AM   #19 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
just looked at your other thread for your new comp.

just to let you know, i have the same msi mobo, and if you plan to make 2 gigs using four 512mb sticks in dual channel, it will force you to run it in ddr333 as opposed to ddr400. so if you want 2gb in ddr400 you'll have to use 2 sticks of 1gb.
oh ok thanks for the heads up.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.