Buliding New PC for PCI:E card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2006, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default Building New PC for PCI:E card

Ive done easy upgrades to my Dell Dimension 8300 like adding a new vid card and ram. I was gonna transfer my internals to a new tower with a new Vid card and water cooling system. So I went out and bought

SAPPHIRE X1800XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3

Thermaltake Big Water SE Water Pump

New Tower

After I bought all this stuff I realized I didn't have a PCI express slot on my mobo which was no big deal I wanted to upgrade to PCI e anyways. So I bought this motherboard along with a new PSU.

New Mobo

New power Supply

My current Mobo is some Dell no name with a p4 2.6 ghz proccessor and runs ddr ram with 4 slots. I also bought a new power supply this is where I think I may have a problem. Under the reviews people say the PSU is not PCI e compatible but others say they have been running PCI E cards on it. Is there adapters for this sort of PSU problem? Another problem I think i may have is my proccessor has a huge heatsink glued to the top of it will it still clip into my new mobo and be sturdy i dont want to fall off the side of the mobo because of the heatsink. This will be my first major upgrade and I just want to make sure everything will be compatible any help would be greatly appreciated. I just want to make sure everything will work when I get all the parts.

Slizerzak is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

If you can afford it try getting the 512mb version of the x1800xt, it out performs the 7900gt.

Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

The aspire PSU is PCIe compatible. Looks like a nice build, but you should upgrade to more ram, at least 1 GB, and a new CPU for sure.
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

Im moving in 1.5 gb of ram from my old pc. What would be a good processor to use on my new mother board? (p4s and celerons)
Slizerzak is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026


just make a cheap AMD 939 system, its cheaper, and will work better.

Do you own a new OS for the motherboard ebcause you will need it to put a new mobo in.
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 09:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3

One last question I didnt notice this before but my mobo is Intel Pentium 4 Prescott and Celeron D. The processor in my PC is a pentium 4 with HT im not sure if its LGA 775. Is this going to be a problem or will a p4 work on a presscott board?

Slizerzak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.