Bulding a new comp need help with psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 05:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Bulding a new comp need help with psu

Hi im building a new comp and im wondering if a 500watt thermaltake psu will be able to power all these.

1.APEVIA X-Dreamer II ATXB4KLW-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 420W Power Supply - Retail
2.SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP2004C 200GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
3.ASUS Striker Extreme LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX The Ultimate Gaming Motherboard - Retail
4.Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
5.Sony NEC Optiarc CD Burner Black IDE Model CRX230EE/B2 W/O SW - OEM
6.Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2LLK2/2G - Retail
7.The PSU that im useing is-Thermaltake W0093RU ATX 12V 2.0 Version 500W Power Supply - Retail
8.PNY nvidia geforce 7600gs video card
__________________

csaefong is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 05:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

it should be enough
but if you dont want to take a risk
get a 650 Wat PSU
__________________

rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

Its not about watts its about amps. But what model is it? And I think that will be enough.
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdygeek View Post
Its not about watts its about amps. But what model is it? And I think that will be enough.
Now now new techie, don't steal other peoples words. But I guess that's good since you're learning.

Anyways, have you purchased any of these parts yet? If you haven't thats good. Motherboard : total waste of money. You can get the Gigabyte P35-DS3R or P5b/P5k Deluxe and it'll perform as well as the Striker Extreme and the P35-DS3R is a great overclocking board. Instead of that SAMSUNG HDD why not just buy a Seagate or WD? They're much cheaper. RAM, instead of Kingston, change it to some Crucial Ballistix/Magicstix. Lol, it's actually Ballistix but us techies call it Magicstix. For the 7600GS that card is fine, but why not just go with the 7600GT? It's a few more dollars and is a pretty good VGA. I would also suggest you go with the Xclio Goodpower 500W for a PSU. It's a decent PSU at a great price.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Now now new techie, don't steal other peoples words. But I guess that's good since you're learning.
I hope you dont mean hes stealing your words? Well apparently he joined in '06 and I am pretty **** sure that this forum was enlightened with the knowledge that amps are also important as watts long before you joined.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

Nope, not my words. I've learn from other people. But yeah, I guess I shouldn't have said that since I found out from peterhuang913 and b1gapl.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Bulding a new comp need help with psu

well i already bought the parts but i think there all pretty good the thing is the video card i got free so i dont wanna buy the gt.But this comp will be pretty sweet do you guys think i need a new heatsink?
__________________

csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Comp vs. CPUZ (and Speedfan won't work) Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-17-2007 03:50 PM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-04-2007 06:58 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM
What to use to get video on comp? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-15-2007 09:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.