built a computer and now i'm sad... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2006, 09:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15

it depends... if only the 24 pin psu connection is connected, the system stays on and runs (at least fans, LEDs)...

when i plug in the 4 pin as well, i get that 1 second start then everything shuts off...

so if someone knows what is variable from one situation to the next that'd be great...

i was thinking it's either the power supply can't provide enough power to both, or it's the cpu :\ the 4pin powers the cpu rite?

other than that i'm totally lost

sadboy is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 06:19 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Originally posted by FlashDude
are you still getting the single beep? leaving the cpu 4pin plug unplugged wouldn't hurt anything. I didn't think it was the psu. If you are not getting any beeps then try resetting the cmos and/or pull the battery. Have you tryed that? If you are not getting any beeps then remove everything that is attached to the board (all ram, all ide cables, floppy cables, video card and any add on cards) just leave the power connectors and if your speaker is hooked up properly it should beep like a mofo at you if not the board is toast.
If you don't answer my questions or try the things I suggest then I can't help you. sorry.

FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15

Oh i'm so sorry flashdude,

I did try out what you said and it worked i just stated a new thread outlining a new problem because i think this one was getting so long that people were confused at which info they should be looking at...

my new question is on the board and is on how to ensure you don't short ur mobo on ur case...

again, so sorry, and thanks for everyone's help it was awesome. look up to help me on my next misadventure :P

thanks guys!
sadboy is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 05:45 PM   #24 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829

maybe the motherboard.

you may want to put some ram in to cause i think all computers need ram to boot to.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

Topic moved to this thread:


P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.