Building a Server for College Class Project - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Default Building a Server for College Class Project

I have an assignment for my class to build a server pc. I havent been givin a sheet of exactly what we need to do but I decided to start asking questions now and researching exact products etc. I know you need the obvious parts of any regular pc, such as motherboard, processor, cd-rom, power supply etc, but other then that exactly what do I need,Must be 5 servers so does that mean 5 hard drives? and specific types [serial ATA or IDE] Do i need 5 cd-rom drives or can I just use 1. Intel or amd? How would I connect all 5 hd's? through Sata connections on motherboard or through RAID? and if possible both? anything else that im missing? I already have a case, only thing is that I have only 3 - 3.5 bays for 3 hard drives, that means I would have to purchace 2 Hard drive Drawers for 2 out of the 3 - 5.25 bays I have. Any more suggestions or info that I need to be aware of?
Note: I already have 3 Hard Drives

2 - 20gb Western Digital - IDE
1 - 30gb Western Digital - IDE

Is there any way I can use these that I have and purchase 2 more IDE's or Serial ATA's Because Hard Drives are expensive, especially a 20 gb Seagate which goes for about 50+ dollars.
__________________

omnipo7ent is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

My advice is lay off the bong and pay attention.

I mean come on! Didn't you learn how to build a server before they asked you to actually build one?

Sorry, I think a server can ba almost any computer, it just needs the software to be set up. A good server will have a lot of ram and be reliable. Thats about all i know about them.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Default

haha its only 3rd day in class and hes just like for project you will need to build your own personal server. So i figured Id come on here and find out exactly how to operate and set it up, Its only 3rd day remember and we are learning what a NIC card like no one knows what that is lol. But im just posting to see what I can work with what I have you know and what I need to purchase etc.
omnipo7ent is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 01:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

hmmmmmmmm?? Your Prof. asked you to make FIVE servers??.. Please clarify. That doesn't make any sense.

You should also check out ECC (Error correction coding) type RAM for any servers.
Chankama is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 01:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Default

5 Hard Drives to host 5 things seperatly.
omnipo7ent is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 01:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

I dont think you need 5 hard drives to host 5 things.....
chog is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Default

oh ok so that means i can just use 2 of those IDE hard drives of mine, combine them to make 40 and just use that, with a new mobo, all that stuff?
omnipo7ent is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 01:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

What do you mean by "host 5 things"? What are these "things"?.. You can just use one computer man .. Host as many things as you want .. You can make them listen in on different ports or whatever.
Chankama is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

like Chankama said before look at ECC memory. AMD offers the Opteron for servers and Intel the Xeon (i think, haven't really checked for a while)
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Just use an old computer. All you need is a connection to your LAN/Internet to be able to host somthing.
5 servers:
Telnet server
Apache webserver
FTP server
WWW File share server
Mailserver
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.