Building a server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2010, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Building a server

How hard is it and how much would it cost on average, if i had a budget of like $700 to build and all the software.

Things I have:
Any old dell tower from a local school, very slow.. anything i can use out of it?
Also 2 GB of Ram, and a 250 GB HardDrive.


Thanks for the help.
__________________

B-B-Z-P is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Building a server

What is the server for?
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Building a server

Hosting a website, and some Bot's for wc3 and file hosting.
B-B-Z-P is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Building a server

If you're wanting a public facing website, you should definitely use a hosting service. Obviously for an Intranet or website testing, a personal server is ideal.
I assume that wc3 means warcraft 3 which would probably mean a windows OS. File hosting is easy enough.

Could I get some clarification on wc3? What is it exactly? What requirements does it have (eg. specific OS, requires a monitor, etc)?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Building a server

Um, yes warcraft 3 And it would be a PvPGN and also Stealth bot and ghost One, and I goning to be hosting a bussines webpage off of it, Windows, and i have a dual mod set up so i can just hook it up to one of my monitors.
B-B-Z-P is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Building a server

Give us some more information about the Dell Tower and the RAM model numbers and speed numbers.
Is it SDRAM? DDR? DDR2? DDR3?
What brand is the HDD?
Is it IDE? Is it SATA?

For the most part, with a budget of $700 you could build from scratch and accomplish your goals easily.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Building a server

Thats all inside the computer.. Um, and i no longer have the RAM or HDD, so im gona try and find product info on this old Dell Tower:

Quote:
1 6P791 Printed Wiring Assembly,PlanarGX60,845GL,A/V/N,Optiplex
1 8R160 Processor,80531,1.7G,256K, 400 Front Side Bus,Celeron
1 5120P Cord,Power,125V,6Feet,SJT, Unshielded
1 4N454 Keyboard,104 Key,US,NMB,LC,MG
1 5U607 Pad,Mouse,DAO,X-LOB
1 735HE Mouse,PS2,6P,2 Button,Wheel 1.3A,MS,MG
1 3K113 Dual Inline Memory Module,256,266M,32X64M8K,184
1 5N356 Dell 206, 120V Speakers, for Dell Inspiron and Dimension Systems, Customer Install
1 2P011 Compact Disk Drive,128K,I,F5 48X,LTN-486,01
1 4P121 Display,Cathode-Ray Tube,17, D,R772P,Midnight Gray,Dell Americas Organization
1 1T320 Hard Drive,20G,I,F3,1 inch 7.2K,WD-XL40S
1 7T281 Floppy Drive,1.44M,F3,3 Mode, No Bezel,TEAC,V4,01
1 1F756 Kit,Software,Overpack,Windows 2000 Professional,SP2,F5 English
B-B-Z-P is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,670
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Building a server

that will NOT, I repeat NOT, be good enough to use as the type of server you want

If you're dead set on hosting the server yourself I'd recommend spending some money and buying a whole new tower. You'll also need a good internet connection, and a router with port-forwarding capabilities.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 08:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Building a server

Yep Yep, well i would rather not buy one but build with the stuff i have, I still have That HDD so what would i need? Ram, New Mother board?

Im trying to learn to build and the components i would need.

And I got a 100 mps, connection with a netgear 108mps router.
B-B-Z-P is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 08:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Building a server

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-B-Z-P View Post
Yep Yep, well i would rather not buy one but build with the stuff i have, I still have That HDD so what would i need? Ram, New Mother board?

Im trying to learn to build and the components i would need.

And I got a 100 mps, connection with a netgear 108mps router.
You'll be much better off in the long run building this server from scratch instead of using outdated parts.
That tower is for a Pentium 4 build from like 10 years ago.
Please, for the love of god, don't use it now.

I suggest you get a cheap AM3 motherboard $50-60 an athlon ii x2 240 cpu $55-60 and a 500Gb HDD $50 and 2-4Gb DDR3 ram $40-100 and a cheap graphics card $60-100 PSU $30-50 Case $20-40

$305-480

That could handle everything you're talking about, I'm pretty sure.
If you want to go a little more high end than that...
You could get an Athlon II X4 620 (Quad Core) $100 instead of the Athlon II X2 240 (Dual Core)
Go 4Gb of RAM and get a 5770 (Graphics Card) ($170)
Taking the cost up to...
$590~600
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding at Home Guide! Burn Folding @ Home 116 01-08-2011 02:10 PM
Configure your Ubuntu Server as a DHCP server Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 09-07-2009 01:10 PM
Building a high performance home server UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-04-2009 12:19 PM
Clonezilla Server. How do I go about this? Jayce Linux and Open Source 1 12-11-2008 03:50 PM
Two server, one main server and one as a backup LegendBreath Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 06-26-2008 10:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.