Building a server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2009, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Building a server

Hello,

Looking to build a home server system. I already have 3 computers in the house, was looking to get a used dell desktop tower with everything in it and then add some stuff to it. I've always built my own computers...how easy is it to add HD's, RAM, etc to a dell machine?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Building a server

well its pretty easy to make a server..

you need just a couple of things.

Reliability (Stable PSU * Preferably Redundant * , Stable OS, Stable Software)
Storage Space (Reliable, Fast, and Preferably a Redundant RAID config)

If you can incorporate that into a computer.. You have yourself a *TRUE* server.

One of my older servers I rebuilt was a:

Quad Xeon 700mhz Ea.
2GB RDRAM
4x 36GB SCSI Cheetahs in RAID 0+1
4x 400watt PSU(needed minimum 2 to function, and they were hot swappable)
__________________

uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Building a server

Thanks for your reply. So...buying a used old dell desktop to get started as a server might not work? I'm seeing the ones that are for sale (about $150) dont have much for expandability.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Building a server

With a Dell, your getting into limited upgrade options and they don't have the most spacious cases either lol

try your local craigslist.

You can get an old server for around $150-300
Most of them will need some HD's and a fresh OS install
Most of them will have Dual Xeons and about 2-4GB ram.

Granted some of the servers are rackmounted, but screw it, desk... floor.. its all the same.
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Building a server

A true server is exactly what Uzi said. however, you can set up a regular computer to be a server, but you won't have the redundancy of a true server (unless you put it in).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Building a server

Thanks guys...was just going to use a regular desktop as the server just to get some training on how to build and use them.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 01:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Building a server

what would you like to do with your server?
__________________

uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configure your Ubuntu Server as a DHCP server Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 09-07-2009 01:10 PM
Error while installing Apache Kdar ISP and Web Hosting 5 04-22-2009 07:18 PM
Building a high performance home server UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-04-2009 12:19 PM
Clonezilla Server. How do I go about this? Jayce Linux and Open Source 1 12-11-2008 03:50 PM
Two server, one main server and one as a backup LegendBreath Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 06-26-2008 10:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.