building a server =) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2009, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default building a server =)

Hey all. I couldn't find a good place to look for help specifically for servers, but this forum seems active so I figured I'd give it a shot =)

Question: Can I use these parts with it? Some of them are desktop parts, but the board is a server board. I don't see why they wouldn't be compatible but I thought I should ask someone :P

any recommendations would be fabulous, thanks =)

part list:

Mobo:ASUS P5E WS PRO
CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0GHz
RAM:2x2x2gb ram (8gb) DDR2 1066
GFX:GeForce GTX 260
PSU:OCZ GameXStream 700w
HD's:2x Seagate Barracuda 1tb 7200rpm (2tb)
case:$70 rackmount

misc: grand total $1200 after rebates (give or take)
__________________

miludafolles is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: building a server =)

yes thse parts will work, but if i may ask, what will you be using it for (besides obviously being a server)?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: building a server =)

You shouldn't need a GTX 260 or x38 for a server. I would change the cpu, motherboard, ram, and video card to these parts.

Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - MSI X58 Pro LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR HD2400PRO 512MB SCS Radeon HD 2400PRO 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: building a server =)

That PSU isn't great and I wouldn't recommend seagates right now either. A graphics card in a server is a waste of power and space and you should definitely use a RAID with some redundancy (meaning you would not get 2TB space from 2*1TB drives so if you really need 2 TB you should plan accordingly). What OS are you going to be using?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: building a server =)

thanks for all the quick replies =) I shall respond to each question in no particular order :P

I went for the graphics card because I figured I could use the rig for gaming, and I could always swap it out for a $30 one and stick it in my desktop when not using it for that purpose.

I'm mainly going to use it for running CPU/RAM taxing applications inside several VM's

Puddle Jumper: wow, that's a great build right there! some nice DDR3, and seems like people are able to OC the 920 Nehalem to 3.6ghz on air =O And it's cheaper than my build... And I get more RAM. Wow. thanks! =)

I picked those HD's because they have the best $/GB ratio (0.08/gb), the WD ones are 25% more expensive, but I suppose I should go for them if all the seagates will do for me is fail

I'll probably end up using Windows Server 2k8 because I can get it for free from my college, but any OS really since it'll be doing all its work inside VMs

and, what's wrong with the PSU? It has plenty of wattage and good amperage from what I can tell, and it's a good brand
miludafolles is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: building a server =)

the OCZ gamextreme is a good PSU, especially for the price.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: building a server =)

I happen to have the 700W gameXstream myself and it couldn't reliably power my old dual opteron machine with only one disk and a quadro 3450! The etasis ET750 it has now powers the machine with 2 * 9800GTXs.
Seagates have been failing a lot lately with various firmware related issues, this is apparently fixed now but if this was my server I would be sticking with other brands just for the moment. If you've already bought them though then don't bother returning them, I assume that since this is a server you are going to be paying special attention to backup so that's the most important thing.
If experience has tought me just one thing it's that machines are better off being specialised for their job, I would definitely leave the powerful GPUs in PCs.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 03:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: building a server =)

alright, so here's how the build looks now

MSI X58 Pro LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
2x CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 (12gb)
$30 gfx card
OCZ GameXStream 700w
2x Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 1TB
$70 rackmount case

total after rebates: $970!

I did a bit of searching and it seems that the 1tb seagate drives should be fine, it seems that the firmware problem only applied to the 1.5tb models

I haven't ordered any parts yet so any other recommendations are welcome. This build looks pretty solid now, and at a great price (thanks again Puddle Jumper!)
miludafolles is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: building a server =)

It does not only affect the 1.5TB models as pointed out by this post.
The 700W gameXstream is on the avoid list in our power supply guide so it's not just me either.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: building a server =)

thanks kmote =)

here's how it looks now after changing PSU and HD's

MSI X58 Pro LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
2x CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 (12gb)
$30 gfx card
OCZ StealthXStream 700W
2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1tb
$70 rackmount case

total after rebates: $960!

The StealthXStream 600w is on this forums list, under Ste's Picks, the one I'm getting is the 700w so that should be good

so, how's it look now? :P

edit: for $20 more, I can get the CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W. Would that be a good choice?
__________________

miludafolles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to obtain SQL Server FullText Search service? BobLewiston Programming 9 08-14-2009 08:24 AM
Building a high performance home server UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-04-2009 12:19 PM
Terminal License Server - Expired !! roumieh2000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-04-2008 01:46 AM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.